Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

Some things I’ve learned in the past few days:

Much like monkeys, zombies are just fucking hilarious.

Really disgusting looking disembodied arms can be purchased from Cinema Secrets for under $30 each.

It’s surprisingly difficult to make a small child cry.

Although I never would have guessed it, really good actors will respond to a casting call placed on Craig’s List.

Final Cut Pro will be the death of me. Should the filmmaker fairies pay me a visit anytime soon; right at the top of my list will be real editing software.

And though I already knew this, stage blood stains like hell – we shot on Sunday, and today I’m still lightly stained (although going to Trader Joes after the shoot was fun – I think I seriously traumatized at least six people).

Filed under: Uncategorized, , , , , , ,

15 Responses

  1. Dave2 says:

    Just imagine how funny zombie monkeys would be!

    I love Final Cut Pro… I’ve edited a few short films and more than a few videos in it, and was really surprised at how quickly things came together.

  2. chris says:

    what’s happening with FCP? if you need some help with it, feel free to hit me up.

  3. Garry_s says:

    Hi from Canada

    I like final cut pro as well.. I’ve used the whole suite for everything from commercials to short features.

  4. Robert Hogan says:

    Final Cut Pro is for chumps. I’m editing on Premiere Pro with After Effects and Audition. I love the Adobe software. Avid also has the free DV edition of their editor if you want to try something different.

    Sounds like you are working on something fun other than the typical day job stuff. Tell us more.

  5. GroovyBrent says:

    Thanks for the Cinema Secrets link! Fun site!

    One of my top 10 favorite comedies is a zombie flick. The more recent zombie-comedy was pretty entertaining, too.

  6. Mark says:

    I thought FCP was well regarded. I use Adobe’s Premiere Pro 2. Curious which one you regard as a “real editing software”.

  7. not random says:

    The new spray-n-wash with resolve in it got it out of my pants. Use cold water.

  8. Dan says:

    I’ve edited features on FCP without a hitch. What’s the problem? Whatever you do stay away from Avid. What a freakin’ nightmare of work-arounds that thing is.

  9. Charli says:

    I used fake blood once for Halloween, you know Santa Cruz is really into that sort of thing, well, here’s the thing, I really didn’t have any money for a costume, I had just moved, so I got this stuffed animal, a shark, and sewed its teeth to my pants, I then trickled blood down my leg.

    Yes, clever, I went as a shark victim, but it did take a little scrubbing, okay, maybe a day or so later for all of the blood to come out and forget the clothes, they were stained.

  10. anon says:

    The trick to getting SFX blood staining out is to get some cheap ass plain shaving cream in a can (we like palmolive) and wash it off with that. Doesn’t really work for clothes, but it gets the stain off the skin really really well.

    My question is why is 728 getting covered in blood?

  11. Meg says:

    That was your ad on CL? Did you have any vegetarian zombies-the ones who say “GRAINS, GRAINS” instead of “BRAINS, BRAINS”?

  12. Newsguy says:

    Hint: Don’t buy FCP. Buy Final Cut Express. It looks exactly like FCP on your desktop and it is way cheaper. It does nearly everything FCP does with a few bells and whistles I have yet to miss. I taught FCP in a magnet high school for three years. I asked a Mac guy what the difference was between FCP and FCE, and he said, “oh about a thousand dollars.” But don’t take my word for it. Ask some of the guys at LA Final Cut Pro Users Group. Ask some of the guys at a Mac store.

  13. JCW says:

    I once did a zero budget film – I mean like the budget was negative $200 or so – and I got shot in the head. Right between the eyes. Fun to do? Yeah! Unfortunately, we were shooting way out in the country outside Petaluma
    (about an hour from my home) and nobody brought anything along to wash the blood off with. I tried to wipe it off but ended up looking like two thirds of my face was covered with a port wine birthmark, so naturally I had to stop for gas on the way home – and naturally it was one of those places where you had to go inside to pay.

  14. boskolives says:

    ~”Really disgusting looking disembodied arms can be purchased from Cinema Secrets for under $30 each.”~

    You can get the real thing in Iraq for less than $0.25, but then you have to deal with shipping and customs.

    It’s hardly worth the savings.

    Cheers,
    That sound mixer

    boskolives.wordpress.com/

  15. Matthew says:

    Give child candy. Take away candy. Crying child.

    Just sayin’ is all.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 704 other followers

