Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

Weekend report

This past Sunday, Los Angeles hosted our second CicLAvia.  A nice, fairly flat route through downtown  (the fun part, not the scary part) closed to cars and open to cyclists, joggers, skaters, etc..

CicLAvia April 2011

This event was much more crowded than the last one (in October of last year) – so crowded that although I really wanted to have a picnic in the middle of an otherwise busy downtown intersection, there was so much bike traffic that I didn’t feel it would have been safe. I guess that’s more of a good thing than a bad thing.

CicLAvia April 2011

In addition to damn near every food truck in the city, this year there were swag booths, so of course at the halfway point I swaggered over to the SoyJoy booth and tried one, as I’d left my sandwich at home and was pretty hungry after having ridden my bike from the Westside (no, you may not call me crazy. It’s not that far).

Wow. What an experience.  I imagine a SoyJoy bar is what sawdust, rotten fruit,  sugar and pure evil baked into the texture of shoe leather would taste like. It took everything I had not to spit it out in front of the nice folks running the booth.

I don’t even remember which flavor I ate, but after perusing the ingredients list and watching other people’s reactions I suspect they’re all equally horrible.

In a valiant effort to get the taste out of my mouth, I stopped at Cole’s and had a sandwich and a martini (hey, it’s 5 pm somewhere, right?).

Although they were initially resistant to the event, the local businesses have figured out that 150,000 cyclists on a warm day is a blessing from the ‘captive audience’ gods – the streets in front of some of the eateries sprouted bike racks, and in Little Tokyo there was even a bike valet.

CicLAvia April 2011

CicLAvia April 2011

A good time was had by all. If you’re in the Los Angeles area, I highly recommend attending the next event.

Today was spent doing laundry, tomorrow I’ll work in the garden, and then there’s a wild rumor that I’ll have work for the rest of the week and possibly into the weekend.

Yay, work!

Filed under: humor, life in LA, Los Angeles, mishaps, Non-Work, Off-Topic, Photos

April 2011
S M T W T F S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Flickr Photos

Archives

Categories

Random Quote

"If people wanted you to write warmly about them, they should have behaved better." -Anne Lamott

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,177 other subscribers

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool