Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

I’ll let someone else do the writing for me today

It’s slow (of course), and while I scan the sky for the predicted light rain tomorrow and listen to the screams of panic coming from the streets, I thought I’d share someone else’s writing with you:

http://www.vulture.com/2012/05/how-long-are-the-days-on-a-movie-set-polone.html

This is post, from a producer, about the hours we sometimes work. He interviews several crew members about the hours and the longest day they’ve had.

It’s funny – I’m so used to the long hours that I forget the rest of the world manages to make a living only working 8 hours a day and finds the concept of a routine 12 hour day to be shocking, inhumane even.

There was a group of people that were trying to pass legislation making it illegal to work more than 14 hours straight, but I think that’s stalled.

So we continue to work 15, 16, 17+ hours and we’re grateful to have any work at all.

And, for the record, the longest “day” I ever worked was 28 hours. I made enough money to pay for a hotel room across the street (because the production wouldn’t) from the downtown location because I was hallucinating and knew I wouldn’t be able to drive home without causing carnage – the bad kind, not the funny kind.

Filed under: hazardous, life in LA, up all night, Work, , ,

6 Responses

  1. David Diaz says:

    I know you have acknowledged the Teamster brethren in the past, but remember, there was probably a number of the brothers and sisters who worked more hours that day you worked 28. I’m one of those guys pushing 90,000 hours but am still too young to retire. We are the poster children for the effects of long term sleep deprivation. Think about that next you cut off an 80,000 pound production van going downhill on the freeway.

  2. David says:

    I know that you are smart enough. Wish everyone was.
    Good night.

  3. Anonymous says:

    David, did you read the article? The teamster on the show says that many of you guys actually LIKE the long hours! Maybe you can talk some sense into your brethren… And I too give a wide berth to all production vehicles when I see them on the road.

    • David Diaz says:

      Thanks for the tip on the article. Currently working on a feature in town that is working relatively “normal” hours, i.e., 12 hour days. I showed it to some of the crew and many had already seen it. As for the Teamsters, many of the younger and less capable bothers and sisters only work seasonally so tbey are forced to count hours in order to keep their insurance. As for split shifting, it’s a stupid idea. You need the continuity with the crew to run smoothly. You cant expect a driver captain to have all the drivers in the same place at the end of 8 hours to send them back to the studio. Move crews can work to move the company atoms nightthe but you need the same crew on a consistent basis.
      I dont know if there is a good answer but i do know that the producers who lack the courage towards do the right thing in regard to scheduling, should be held personally responsible for the accidents that occur.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 698 other followers

