Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

New School / Old School

Since I’ve decided I can only learn one new thing at a time, I’m going to be making my lighting maps the old-fashioned way – with paper and a template.

When I came up with the idea, it seemed reasonable enough – just go and buy a template and then I’ll be tracing my way to not having to learn a fucking CAD program on top of everything else I’m trying to absorb.

Except that prancing into Studio Depot, whipping out my credit card and bypassing technology wasn’t as easy as I’d imagined.

The templates haven’t been stocked in quite some time, since apparently everyone in the world is using the aforementioned fucking CAD program.

Guess I’m going to have to have a talk with the gaffer about how we’re going to map this. Hopefully he’s got a template somewhere and can bring it in.

Maybe in a week or so I’ll be able to tackle new learnings, but right now my brain is worn the hell out.

Also, it’s hotter than ass here in Los Angeles, so there’s that.  Wait. I was trying to make a point, then I kept sweating and now I… forgot.

UPDATE: Filmtools has them. Sweet.

Guess where I’m going after work tomorrow?

Filed under: studio lots, Work, , , , , , ,

2 Responses

  1. chucksnuc says:

    Hot in L.A.
    Raymond Chandler wrote stories w/ that element. It makes a good motif in the drama.
    I can see a little bit of it right here; a character (I can’t find your name on this page) is cussing a lot and just a bit irritable.
    Hey, you could be living in Canoga Park.

  2. kammi says:

    That’s pretty sad. In NYC a lot of people still do hand draft (probably because of the prevalence of theatre schools and Broadway, etc). I’m actually surprised because even in the theatre department at my college we learned hand drafting FIRST before learning VW. It emphasizes good draftsmanship and you remember the mfs (multiplication factors/ beam spread) of lights having used certain ones over and over, so you learn the properties of each fixture. The VW-ESP transition is convenient, though. Once I moved to LA, vellum was a pain to find. I enjoy hand drafting immensely. There is nothing like drawing out a plot and watching the sun rise.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 702 other followers

