Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

So it’s come to this…

For the next five (or six, I’m not sure anymore) weeks, I’m going to be putting up holiday lights at a studio*.

I’m working with a bunch of guys whom I’ve never met before, but who all are really cool and it’s a fun group, but basically I’m a glorified gardener right now.

A gardener who’s making union scale plus a night premium, so I certainly can’t complain (okay, I can complain about being attacked by a bougainvillea that wasn’t in the holiday spirit – I never realized that those things had half-inch long thorns, and apparently they don’t enjoy being draped in lights).

The hours aren’t so bad – 2:30 pm to 1 am. We’re working a nights because our presence is upsetting to the important folks – after all, everyone wants to read the great American novel, but no one wants to watch the room full of chain-smoking monkeys typing away.

*I’m not going to name it, as I’m currently an employee of the studio and not a production, and I’m not certain what the policy on blogs is, so let’s all just keep our guesses to ourselves, shall we?

Filed under: Work

October 2006
S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Flickr Photos

Archives

Categories

Random Quote

"If people wanted you to write warmly about them, they should have behaved better." -Anne Lamott

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,177 other subscribers

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool