Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

How does that song go again?

It’s not a secret that I don’t like Piña Colada (too sweet, and we all know what happens when one indulges in sweet stuff that also happens to be alcoholic), and after today, I can say for certain that I don’t much like getting caught in the rain, either.

Since I’m not going to get any work before January, my mission for the next week or so is to burn off some of the yummy fattening holiday foods I’ve been cramming down my gullet since Thanksgiving, so today I went for a bike ride – to the top of Sunset Plaza Drive.

For those of you not familiar, Sunset Plaza Drive is windy and steep, and eventually ends up at the crest of the Hollywood Hills. It’s a painful ride, but a much more interesting way to work out than staring at CNN in the gym while the fat sweaty guy on the machine next to me sings along with Justin Timberlake.

The payoff of this ride is the view once one finally gets to the top of the hill:

Clear view

This is looking east, towards downtown. Note the rain clouds rolling in on the left of the photo. As soon as I saw them, I thought “Oh, shit. I better get the lead out”, and proceeded to tear back down the hill as fast as I could – but I wasn’t fast enough. Half a mile from my house, the clouds caught me and I got drenched while sitting at a stoplight.

As I gazed up into the downpour and let loose with a terrible string of obscenities, I accidentally caught the eye of a guy in one of those Jeep Wranglers – you know, the ones without the roof. He was getting drenched, too – I think he might have even been shouting the same expletive at the same time.

As we waited for the light to change, we just looked at each other for a moment, and then simultaneously burst out laughing.

Luckily, my backpack’s waterproof, so although I got soaked to the skin, my cell phone and camera stayed dry.

Here’s another photo:

Clear Day

This one was taken from Blue Heights Drive (an offshoot of Sunset Plaza Drive), from the driveway of a very nice man who let me stand on his property to take this photo.

Filed under: Non-Work, Photos

7 Responses

  1. Will says:

    Nice photos. Nothing peels off the calories like cycling around those hills.

  2. EcamirG says:

    If it makes you feel any better, at least you didn’t get pelted by a banana… or a frog… or a legume of some sort, like my car did on the 405 yesterday.

  3. Stan says:

    I like Sunset Plaza. I usually go over the top and down the other side. Then I either cross Laurel Canyon by Houdini’s old house and go up Willow Glen to get to Nichols Canyon, or I take Lookout Mountain left up to Mulholland. It’s a nice place to ride.

  4. Bike Ride! If and when your 2007 schedule permits you should very much come out and roll around town with an upcoming Midnight Ridazz group ride (assuming you haven’t already). Next one is Jan 12. Check out midnightridazz.com.

  5. Meg says:

    Nothing like the winter winds to clear up the LA skyline. Beauty shots. I used to ride my bike to work over Laurel Cyn from Hollywood to the Valley.

  6. mark says:

    Was logging on from my second laptop and my bookmark was old so I went to the old site. Less-ardent fans who don’t check in regularly might think you weren’t posting lately… might I suggest you add a one-line post at blogspot with the redirect?

    Keep up the good work. And have a seriously happy new year.

  7. Peter says:

    The view from a high place is always better if you’ve hiked or biked your way to the top. You appreciate it much more.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

