Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

Free Movie Season!

Lucky for me, the pre-awards season slew of free movies coincides with the pre-pilot season sucking sounds of the last of my savings leaving my bank account (don’t worry – I’ll be working my ass off very, very soon).

I’m a member of IFP/West (now FilmIndependent), so although we don’t get fancy screeners sent to us like the Academy Awards (TM) folks do, I still get to go out and see a bunch of free movies – some good, some not.

My only complaint is that there aren’t any screenings during the day on weekdays for those of us who are unemployed slugs between projects. Some of the “buzz” movies are impossible to get into, so a daytime screening would really up my odds of getting to see, say, Pan’s Labyrinth without having to shell out 12 bucks that, quite frankly, I’m not willing to spend just right now.

On a completely unrelated note, It’s also really, really cold in LA – I mean objectively cold, not California cold. This morning, when I ventured out of my house at O-dark-thirty to move the car because of the street cleaning, there was ice on the windshield. Ice. In Los Angeles.

Before those of you in colder climates condemn us here in SoCal for being wimps, let me remind you that most of us don’t own any really warm clothing (I have warm stuff for work, but nothing I can wear out in civilized life), or heavy insulation in our homes (my place, built in 1923, has no insulation at all), because normally we just don’t need it.

I should have known it was going to turn cold – the cat’s grown such an immense winter coat that she looks like a cotton ball. I thought it was funny as hell last week when it was 90 degrees F (32 C), but who’s laughing now?

Filed under: life in LA, Non-Work

16 Responses

  1. she_said says:

    Can’t wait to hear about the indy films!

    I’m in a screw this weather mode. I think I get to bitch about 19 degrees in California. No matter what the rest of the country thinks. It just isn’t right. Can we have a happy medium around here?

    Not to mention the static level of everything is crazy. Every time you touch something up here in N.Cal you get shocked because it is just -so- dry.

  2. Meg says:

    I’m just north of you, just outside the 30 mile zone. Last night, it was 12 degrees. TWELVE DEGREES. Fahrenheit. My cat has also fluffed up to major puffball proportions. As you say, last week it was ungodly hot. But to those who prayed to whatever gods for it to cool off, I beg you, stop. It’s cool enough.

  3. Tiffany says:

    Pan’s Labyrinth is really cool! Or, so I thought, at least. Let us know what you think when you see it!

  4. “Between projects” is poetic. I think I’ll use it until I get a job.

    As for the cold weather, I feel you. I’m trapped in my apartment until probably Wednesday due to ice. There we’re a ton of people who thought the newscasters were being Chicken Little, but it’s seriously horrible, especially since we are not used to it in Oklahoma.

  5. travelgirl says:

    it’s snowing in seattle, something that rarely happens and yet, this winter, is increasingly “normal” …

    however, the reason i write: you MUST see pan’s labyrinth… while children of men is quite good in its own right, it comes with an incredible amount of hype that the movie just doesn’t live up to.

    on the other hand, pan’s labyrinth is incredible from front to back… cinematography, acting, writing, it’s all amazing… it will be among the very few films this year i will have to own…

  6. Peter says:

    You could always come to New York to stay warm: more than a month straight of above-normal (frequently far above) temperatures and no snow at all this season. Though it does look as if the weather pattern is changing and it’s finally getting colder.

  7. maxx says:

    GO IL NINO! Originally from the great North East, I am used to colder weather, but after spending a year and Cali, only a year, and still being able to notice the difference in this year, it seems much, much colder. I live in Santa Ana in a victorian with the worst draft this side of brittany’s commando mini-skirt. . . It’s cold! And when I complain to my friends they say, ‘FUCK OFF you’re in Cali’… and I say, “I KNOW!!! Why can’t I feel my toes?!?” But, it’s normal… Or so says the news.

  8. foreign agent says:

    Please give us back our cold.

    It’s autumn weather up here: every morning I gear up in my winter finest – and by the time I get to work, I’m sweating like a pig.

    Feels like global warming’s finally catching up with us.

  9. PDQ says:

    I can relate to the cold comments – I’ve got a 1923 California Bungalow near LAX that’s drafty as hell – and the furnace died on Saturday. Can I find a space heater? Hellllllll no! When is the repair guy coming? Wednesday! Hopefully it’s not something that requires a whole lotta parts. The furnace is old as hell and parts are hard to come by.

    In the meantime I’m considering converting my bathroom into a meat locker.

  10. Why don’t you all just move to Australia. The weather is so good. We’re currently in drought it’s that good.

    Between projects will be on a t-shirt soon. A must for all in the industry.

  11. Nez says:

    Wow…it’s colder in California than it is in the UK. (Well..my bit of the UK anyway.) I would chuck you a nice warm jumper if I could, but it’s a long way and I don’t think I can throw that far.

    I just wanted to drop by and say I’m really enjoying your blog. Somebody pointed me in your direction, and I’m now one of those who’s enjoyed the recent stuff enough to go back to the beginning! (I’ve made it to Dec 2005 so far.)

    By the way, are you aware that in the UK there is a radio drama series called ‘The Archers’ and one of the characters in it is called Peggy Archer? (Well..she was – she seems to have re-married and become Peggy Woolley now – but she WAS Peggy Archer for ages – honest!)
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio4/archers/whos_who/characters/who_peggywoolley.shtml

    Keep up the good blogging!
    N.

    Peggy sez: I was made aware of that, yes. I chose my name from a book called “Peggy Archer: Missionary Candidate”, which was sappy and full of advice about the wonderfulness of spreading the Lord’s word. Since I’m basically a boozed-up foulmouthed hussy, I thought it was ironic.

  12. JCW says:

    I’m with she_said – up here in NoCal it seems everytime I touch something I get the static spark! Sunny as all get out, but into the high 20’s at night.

    Hear great things about Pan’s Labyrinth – do be sure and share your thoughts should you get to see it.

    Had rather hoped you’d get a gig lighting the Golden Globes – how does one go about getting onto one of those award show crews? Do they use the same people year after year?

  13. Nez says:

    Well…having just had a quick google, I think it’s fair to say you’ve well and truly claimed the name for yourself now.

    *tries to stop humming the theme tune to The Archers*

  14. MBFH says:

    The other morning I went out to get newspapers and coffee, and I found my windshield frozen over with a quarter inch of ice. This was no big deal when I lived in Seattle, but in Bakersfield where it’s normally surface of the sun hot for 9 months out of the year, this was an amazing development.

    My normal method of defrosting my windshield, which involves pouring water on the glass to melt away the frost, resulted in an even thicker layer of ice.

    As for insulation, my house was built in 1908. I can relate. I’m wearing a parka right now.

    I have a 4:30 call for an awards show tomorrow. I’m looking forward to that.

    Brrrrrrr.

  15. Garry_S says:

    Shall I bring you a parka when I come down in April. That way you will be prepared next time winter hits Los Angeles.

    I’ll bring it down, then mail it to you from my Hotel if you want.

    -19c here in Calgary as we speak, and LOTS of snow.

  16. Littleolady says:

    How about a picture of that fluffed out cat?

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

