Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

Finally, Mack’s meme

My job yesterday got cancelled (oh, I’m heartbroken that I didn’t get to crawl around in the rat-infested basement of a downtown warehouse. Just heartbroken. Really I am), but I have a 6:30 am call tomorrow on some low-budget thing. Since I’d made plans for both Sunday and Monday, I should have known I’d get a call to work.

Fine with me. I need the dough.

I normally ignore meme tags, but Mack Reed seems like a nice guy and has linked to me about a billion times, so I’ll honor the month-old request (hey, better late than never, right?) just this once.

Five things you didn’t know about me:

1) I have ADD. I’ve had it since I was a kid and it didn’t have a name other than “you’re so smart – why won’t you apply yourself?” By the time anyone figured out what it was and put me on medication for it, I was well into high school and a lifetime of underachieving had locked me out of the more prestigious colleges. C’est la vie.

2) For a short time, my parents thought sending me to a religious school was a good idea. I promptly got suspended for reading Charles Bukowski during Bible study time*.

3) I hate zucchini – I mean I really hate it and won’t eat it (or any dish containing it) even if I’m starving.

4) My favorite color is turquoise – not that wishy-washy pastel, but the rich dark blue-green that’s the color of the ocean when the water’s clear. If I could, I would paint everything I own that color.

5) I have actually uttered the following words: “The best part about the trip to Miami wasn’t all the partying in South Beach, it was when I went to Key West and saw the Hemmingway house.”

Bonus Item: My regret about seeing the Hemmingway house was not getting shit-faced and fighting someone while I was there. Sorry, Papa. I let you down.

*There’s something about people with ADD that we can’t pay attention to anything other than books. Nora Ephron, whom I adore, has ADD as well and has, on several occasions, mentioned being a voracious reader. What’s up with that?

And I still to this day would rather read Bukowski than the King James.

Filed under: Non-Work

6 Responses

  1. Chris says:

    Love Nora Ephron?

    Right up until you have to work for her.

    You will eat well, though.

    I still use her checca recipe from “Heartburn”…

  2. Nez says:

    I am both English and slightly drunk at the moement. (It’s amazing I managed to connect to the internet.)(I’m also struggling to spell correctly.)(It’s 2.15am) My point is that I know we call zuchinni something else over here. I couldn’t remember and I had to google it. Turns out it’s courgette. I neither hate it nor like it. To me, it’s just a bit bland. A bit of nothing really.

    Funny that I refer to it as a point, when in fact it was actually pointLESS. Ah well.

    I love reading too. (Hence my current zest/quest to read your entire blog – even if drunken. Up to May 2006 so far.) Don’t think I have ADD, but I know I can only concentrate on so many things at once. Exceed it, and I zone out. Currently have three books on the go. And I just know that I HAVE to get up to date with your blog before I can properly allocate braintime to my next project. (Doing the music for a kids’ drama group.)

    Went through your FLICKR photos the other day. The abandoned couch photos made me giggle. (Or ‘sofa’ as I would say being a Brit)(or settee for that matter.) …Poor things.

    Don’t worry. I’m shutting up now.

  3. Hey, I ‘didn’t apply myself’ too. I was also ‘intelligent, but lazy’. Gotta love a school system that would rather assume a kid just doesn’t want to do the work than checking to see if there’s something actually impeding them.

  4. principled uncertainty says:

    I used to get the “Christopher is not working up to his level of ability/not applying himself” admonishment all through school. I also had what we call today ADD; back then, it was called hyperactivity disorder. There were no drugs then available to “treat us” so we just got smacked. I knew we must have something in common Peg.

  5. encinoblogger says:

    Hmmm…Bukowski, Bible; Bukowski, Bible. What to do, what to do? I think you made the right choice.

  6. Mary Sue says:

    Hi, just found your blog and am reading it while I’m working, since I’m also ADD and can manage blog reading and materials management at the same time.

    I’m also a huuuge book lover, and I know that the reason I like books is that there’s something inside those covers that I’ve likely not known before, whether it’s how gluten molecules interact with water in bread, or whether or not Harry Potter’s gonna die when he meets up with Voldemort. The quest to know something new often triggers my hyperfocus when I’m reading.

    Besides, books are FUN!

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 583 other followers

