Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

Attack of the cockroaches!

Sunday, we had scene calling for cockroaches, and the Madagascar cockroaches which were used freaked out about half the crew (some of who decided to take an extended smoke break until all the roaches had finished their scene and were returned to their travel container).

Although I certainly wouldn’t want them crawling on me, I thought they were kind of cool- the had really pretty striped shells (wait- it’s an exoskeleton, right? Is it called a carapace? I know it’s not a shell and I’m too tired to google it. You’re lucky you’re getting this much out of me), and tiny little faces.

According to the roach wrangler, these type of roaches aren’t crawling disease vectors like the common house roach, but that didn’t stop them from creeping out the poor PA’s who were assigned to roach-catching duties (and no, they couldn’t step on them – they had to gently pick them up after they ran out of frame and put them back in the container).

Monday was our biggest set yet (in the lobby of the old hospital), and since there were only three of us, we ran like crazy all day. The advantage of being insanely busy is that it makes the day seem to go faster. It seemed like we’d only been there for a couple of hours when they called wrap.

We haven’t been getting worked that hard, but I’m really tired at the end of every day because I’m starting to get sick despite my wearing a mask the entire time I’m in the hospital (much to the amusement of my co-workers).

To be fair, this could have nothing to do with the location and I could have just caught whatever it is that’s going around. The next weekday I have off I’ll go see the doctor.

Sunday call time: 8:30 am, wrap time 10:00 pm (the long day due mainly to delay caused by the allergic reaction one of the actors had to some of the makeup)

Monday call time: 9:30 am, wrap time 9:00 pm

Call time this morning is 9 am, and since I have to drive to east LA (which means I’m going with the traffic) I have about a 45 minute commute. I can’t complain, though. One of the guys lives about 50 miles away, and has been having a 2+ hour commute every day. Yeek.

Filed under: Work

6 Responses

  1. Peter says:

    Some people actually keep Madagascar cockroaches as pets.

  2. I had a friend who used to keep Madagascar roaches as pets. I’m not a big fan of bugs either, but I have to agree, those were too cool.

    Hope you feel better soon!

  3. calimike says:

    This reminded me of an old X-Files episode with alien cockroaches.

    From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

    The X-Files episode
    “War of the Coprophages”
    Episode no. Season 3
    Episode 12
    Guest star(s) Bobbie Phillips as Dr. Bambi Berenbaum
    Writer(s) Darin Morgan
    Director Kim Manners
    Production no. 3×12
    Original airdate January 1, 1996 (Fox)

    “War of the Coprophages” is the twelth episode of the third season of The X-Files. A small town is plagued by deaths in which the bodies are found covered in cockroaches. Working from home, Scully has scientific explanations for all of them. but Mulder — at the crime scene with an attractive bug expert — suspects the insects may not be organic, or earthly.

  4. Nez says:

    I hope the roaches behaved themselves and didn’t make too many unreasonable demands. You know how some of these stars can be. (I’m having a mental image of a load of teeny tiny – but very impressive – roach trailers.)

  5. Jason says:

    I have had, what’s going around for the last month, it does not want to go away. I am on my second set of antibiotics. Tell your doctor, to give you something to kick it’s a**. Working with Madagascar cockroaches sounds fun, or at least different.

  6. Peggy Archer says:

    UPDATE: Cockroaches have an exoskeleton. The term “carapace” applies to crustaceans, turtles and some of the nastier-looking arachnids.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

