Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

Big weekend update!

Sometimes, I just don’t have the energy to write a blog entry after work, and this last week was one of those times, so here’s a summary:

Wednesday: I picked a good day to come back to work – we shot in a hallway for the entire 12 hour day, so even though my back still hurt a little I was able to sit down often enough to make it through the day. When I got home, I cuddled up with the ice pack and went right to sleep.

During my absence, about half the crew (including the lead actress, director and DP) picked up some really nasty bug and were looking like zombies all day.

I’d just like to take a moment to point out that the few of us who had “allergy issues” and wore masks for the whole shoot (and were ruthlessly mocked for doing so) didn’t get sick.

Yeah, who’s laughin’ now, pukey?

Thursday: damn good thing my back felt better, because this was a loooong day. Call time 8:30, wrap time 12:30 am (on Friday), due to special effects (any shot involving an exploding dummy takes a while to set up) and the lead actress not being able to stop vomiting long enough to get through a scene (poor thing – I wouldn’t wish that on my worst enemy).

Friday: Last night of the movie. My back felt MUCH better, although still stiff, so I kept the back belt on all day. Call time was at 12 noon, and we wrapped at 1:30 am, which wasn’t bad since we had more special effects to shoot, but once again we were in the same room all day (after the morning’s mad rush to get a bunch of inserts – in sets that had wrapped days ago – that the editor needed). By lunchtime (at 6 pm), the fatigue was hitting everyone hard and the whole crew were getting punchy and laughing hysterically at really unfunny jokes. For some reason, I got the “Small World” song from that ride at Disneyland stuck in my head at lunch and couldn’t get it out. Damn.

The big bummer of the day was that I’d taken a bit of a liking to the DP and thought there was reason to suspect that he liked me back (that’s so third grade, isn’t it?), so I was really disappointed to not get anything more than a handshake at wrap. I mean, I wasn’t expecting tongue or anything like that, but more than a very platonic handshake and a statement that it was a good show.

Oh, well. You win some, you lose some.

Photos tomorrow. Or Monday. Or whenever I get motivated to do much of anything other than sit on the couch and stare at the TV.

Filed under: Work

6 Responses

  1. David H. says:

    And now I think we’ll all have “Small World” stuck in our heads thanks to you! Dang it! :-D

  2. Meg says:

    I have a Small World coffee mug, thanks to someone visiting Disneyland and having the evil thought that I might like to have “That Song” pop into my head EVERY SINGLE MORNING.

  3. Justin says:

    “the fatigue was hitting everyone hard and the whole crew were getting punchy and laughing hysterically at really unfunny jokes.”

    I can really emphasize with that. The running joke of yesterday was from when Drew was beatboxing. Chris was trying to tell him to eat his peanut granola bar so as not to waste it, and Drew kept beatboxing, so Chris kept repeating himself so it came together as a sort of song. “Eat your peanut butter!” And for the rest of the day it was really easy to get a laugh by doing a rendition.

    What really sucks is when there’s absolutely nothing going on and you reach a certain level of boredom, where you will say anything remotely funny in an effort to amuse yourself. I’m pretty sure I give a lot of people the impression that I’m a total idiot that way. Among the many other ways, no doubt.

  4. Meg says:

    A very platonic handshake from the DP-maybe he was still feeling poorly? Of course, if that was the case, a handshake would spread the germs more than tongue (grin)

  5. Glad to hear you’re feeling better!

    As long as we’re being in the third grade perhaps you should have passed the DP one of those “Do you want to go with me, check one” notes. Those were always highly effective for me. ;-)

  6. Peter says:

    I am convinced that Disney’s composers wrote that ghastly song with the full intention that it would get stuck in people’s heads. Walt is probably having a good laugh right now in his liquid nitrogen tank.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

