Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

She shoots, she misses!

After working all day on wraparounds* for a stand-up comedian’s TV show (where we didn’t have a real generator – just a 60 amp ‘putt-putt’ which wasn’t enough to run all the lights we had so my entire day was spent running around trying like crazy to find house power), I changed clothes in the car and went to the Hamburglar wrap party, where made sure that I found homeboy and said hello and in return I got….

Another platonic handshake.

You know, I’m usually really good at reading people, but I have to think that this time I might have been wrong. Either that, or I was right all along and I’m just really scary.

Either one works.

Somehow this doesn’t seem like much of a big deal right now – probably because my uncle had a stroke the night before last, and my sister told me while I was at work yesterday. I hate those phone calls.

It wasn’t a bad stroke, and he’s starting to get movement back on his left side already (although he still can’t talk), so he’ll be fine. I’ll have plenty of time to get bummed out about being shot down once he’s a little more stable.

So today, instead of taking my mind off things by riding my bike around enjoying the gorgeous day, I’m off to do laundry.

*Wraparounds are those little promo spots before and after commercials – you know, where the cast of a TV show makes the announcement that you’re watching a certain network, and then assures you that the network will still be there after the commercial break.

Filed under: Work

7 Responses

  1. Nez says:

    Awww – cheer up. If it makes you feel any better I seem to be spending Valentine’s evening on my own with just a cup of tea for company. And to top things off I’ve just run out of chocolate!!

    I hope your uncle recovers soon.

  2. Peter says:

    It could be that this man is interested in you, but is wary of saying anything due to sexual harrassment issues. Even though you’re not in a traditional corporate setting, I get the idea that a DP ranks above you in the workplace and hence is vulnerable to sexual harrassment claims. It’s sort of ridiculous, but that’s our legal system for you.

  3. scamper says:

    Wraparounds? Are those the same things we called “bumpers” in my day? It’s important to keep up with the vernacular…

  4. JCW says:

    Must’ve been the grey roots…. told you to go get some Loving Care. So, for future emergencies, get yourself a box of temp color and put it beneath the bathroom sink ’cause you never know when you might need to look your best last minute.

    Trust me – this comes from having been at the whim of unpredictable casting directors… always good to be prepared.

    All that said, I’m sure you looked lovely and he’s probably just gay.

    It happens.

  5. Erin says:

    Ugh…. that happened to me too on the last gig I wrapped. I totally thought there was something there with one of the casting guys and then at the end of the shoot… nothing. Turned out he was gay. He worked in casting… I should have known figured. Maybe the DP’s gay? Just sayin… maybe it’s not you.

  6. rebecca says:

    after 10 years as a camera assistant, it was my experience that most of the DPs i worked for prefered young blonde stand ins. i rarely met one who was interested in adult women, with or without grey hair. don’t take it personally.

  7. The man is obviously blind. Oh well. I hope your spirits are raised soon and I hope all is well soon with your uncle.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

