Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

President’s Day fun for freelancers!

It’s the W-2* (tax year 2006) contest!

W2s

How many do you have? I’ve got 25.

The person with the most will win a Corey Feldman CD** (if I can find it)!





* For those of you outside the US, a W-2 is a tax form that we get at the end of the year. We get one W-2 for each job we worked. Feel free to enter the number of whatever equivalent form you get.

** CD actually given to me by Corey Feldman.

Filed under: life in LA, Photos, Work

19 Responses

  1. Grimace says:

    Damn it. 23… but I’ve got 7 1099s to go with them. Do those count?

  2. Peggy Archer says:

    Just for the record, I can’t win my own contest. My W-2 forms don’t count.

    I hadn’t thought about 1099s since I haven’t gotten one in a long time.

    I don’t see why they shouldn’t count. Opinions?

  3. Dave2 says:

    Wow… do you fill out your own taxes? That looks complicated.

  4. Alison says:

    Is the Feldman CD signed ?

    Peggy sez: Nope. I worked on a movie with him and he gave everyone a CD at the wrap party, but I didn’t (and still don’t) care enough to ask him to sign it. Sorry.

  5. wen says:

    I have a wimpy three. However, that means that I worked all year on only three shows. Thank god.

  6. Not4me says:

    Every year at this time, it’s a mess. Last year I worked on an independent feature in Pittsburgh. In addition to the Federal bite, I was paying California state taxes, Pennsylvania taxes AND a Pittsburgh city tax weekly.

  7. GetSheila says:

    23? Holy crap! 1099’s are much easier to deal with: you don’t have to report them separately and they usually don’t have any pesky tax withholdings to deal with. Plus you get to deduct expenses against 1099 earnings while with W-2 earnings you are pretty much screwed.

    Does it count that I will SEE eleventy billion W-2’s this tax season because I am an accountant? No? *sigh*

  8. boskolives says:

    Still coming in, but all told (W-2’s and 1099’s) I expect to hit around a hundred, maybe a bit more. Being a freelance sound mixer means dayplaying a lot filling in for other mixers buds who have job overlaps, or double book by accident. That, and the new world of non-union shows that have only 10 to 15 days of shooting, and then on to the next one.
    Cheers

    http://boskolives.wordpress.com/

  9. Nez says:

    I have a big fat hairy zero and feel left out!
    (But then I’m a Brit so I wouldn’t. Our tax year doesn’t end for another month, and I’m an employee so it all gets sorted out automatically. Dammit. I want to have the angst of sorting out my tax!! Not.)
    Do I qualify for a wooden spoon award?

  10. Meg says:

    Let’s see-EP, Fox, Cast&Crew, a buncha NY commercial outfits, what fun trying to match up days worked against the W-2s. My brother used to do Entertainment taxes, and it drove him crazy (really) and now I see why. I started using TurboTax a few years ago, and it still drives me bonkers. I’m not telling how many W-2s I have in this (neatly sorted, ha sure) pile, because I don’t want a Corey Feldman cd (VBG)

  11. Molly Mayhem says:

    23 and 1 1099.

  12. she_said says:

    Wow. 25. Now thats impressive.

  13. JCW says:

    OK – GetSheila gets my vote because no matter how many W2s one has to deal with, it cannot compare to the headaches of being a CPA during tax season. Besides, I think she has a thing for Corey Feldman that only a CD that has been personally held in his own hand can satisfy. Trust me, she’ll carry it in her purse on warm Summer days, and cuddle with it in bed on cold Winter nights beneath two – count ’em – two, electric blankets. (One with faulty wiring)

    Have a heart Peg…. GetSheila has earned a Corey Feldman CD, NEEDS a Corey Feldman CD and DESERVES a Corey Feldman CD.

    It’s the least one can do for a hard pressed, hard working tax woman driven to the brink of insanity at this time of year.

    And if you can find one from Corey Haim, be sure and let me know… He’s so cool!!

  14. Meg says:

    I’m with JCW. GetSheila needs the Corey Feldman cd. And I like her math (“eleventy billion”)

  15. Proto says:

    Only one W-2, with a couple of 1099s…
    …no adventure being steady.

  16. Fingle says:

    Seven, plus the day job. I lose…

    But I did get one from “Varsity Spirit Association” for THIS job..

    http://fingle.livejournal.com/76735.html#cutid1

    Cheers!
    – Pat

  17. heather says:

    my roommate had 31 ROE’s (cdn record of employment) and when he applied for his unemployment, they asked him if he had “submitted his ROE” and he said “yeah, all 31”

    and they laughed at him, and said: “uh, no wonder your claim is taking longer than usual to process”

  18. tdg says:

    I only have eight–all neatly paired with their own 1099MISC for kit rental.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

