Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

Gratuitous cute kitty photo

My cat makes me nuts sometimes.

I absolutely hate it when she sleeps on the DVD player. Besides the fact that I think it’s not very good for the DVD player, I’m afraid that she’s going to get some kind of strange disease from it – you know, like cell phone brain cancer except it would be DVD player cat ass rot.

I am once again without internets at home – a couple of months ago, the phone company offered to sign me up for online bill pay, which I canceled after not getting it to work.

So last month, I didn’t get a paper bill OR an online bill, and this morning they cut off my phone service.

I can’t go online and pay because they don’t have a username attached to my phone number, but I can’t register for a username because my phone number is in the data base as being attached to a username already.

Goddammit.

I can’t manage to get an actual human being on the line at the ‘service center’ so tomorrow I’m going to have to find where the office is so I can pay in person – I just have to dig through the recycle basket in the desperate hope that I can find an old bill to bring in.

And how was your day?

Filed under: Non-Work, Photos

10 Responses

  1. Dave2 says:

    About the same…

  2. getsheila says:

    Oooh, she’s very pretty. Must be warn on top of that electrical appliance.

  3. David H. says:

    Wow…very artistic shot. I like it!

  4. Chip Beckett says:

    I’m on my second day of pre-rig that keeps getting interrupted apparently because first team doesn’t have enough people. My cat looking at me over the computer (and the rigging gaffer buying the beer) are the only thing to make my night. Especially with a 6:30 call and I have to do laundry.

  5. Jedediah says:

    Have you been swiping studio lights for your living room?

    Also, who puts their dvd player on display like a coffee table item?

  6. Nez says:

    Great photo. I can see why she likes it – just the right size.

    My day…? Well I’ve had a bad stomach for a couple of days so… not so good (but at least it means staying off work!!)

  7. Burbanked says:

    “in PERSON”?? Nooooooooo! Hard to believe this kind of thing goes on these days, but I sympathize. So much anymore the idea of “customer support” just…isn’t.

    Cute puddy. My experience is that they will inevitably sleep in that exact spot that you’ve suggested for them to avoid.

  8. Dan says:

    I once yelled FUCK! at the automated menu at SBC after it screwed me for the 3rd time. It hung up on me. Come to find out, it will cut you off if you say any obscenities. My sister used to work for customer service at the phone company, and back then the humans were required to let customers ‘vent’. Now we can’t even let the computer have it.

  9. Mike80 says:

    I had a similar problem with my “Series of Tubes” recently. One day my DSL just turned off. After several days of phone calls, during which I know I spoke to at least half the population of Bangladesh, it turned out that another company had disconnected me and stolen my circuit for one of their “internets” customers. This took well over a week to get sorted out, because their were a bunch of phone calls where I had to explain to someone 7000 miles away that no, I didn’t order service from another company, and that no, I wasn’t going to call new customer connections and have it hooked back up because it was their problem. Fortunately, after tearing out most of my hair and becoming fluent in Hindu, service was restored. And the “Series of Tubes” lived happily ever after. I love technology.

  10. Anonymous says:

    Don’t get me started on ISP accounts problems. Too late, you have!
    Company 1. After two years gave me a MAC number to transfer to a new provider. Then nine months later sent me a demand that I pay for the last nine months service. Cue many, many, phone calls where I could not get anybody to believe I was now with a different company.
    Company 2. Screwed up my payments and then disconnected me. Took three weeks and me emailing the CEO personaly to get reconnected. Then a year later my connection stopped and after five days of “I’ve sorted it, you’ll be back online within 24 hours” they told me the reason my service was disconnect was thet I had cancelled it two weeks ago! Couldn’t reconnect me and said I’ll have to sign up as a new customer and it could take a couple of weeks. Signed up with a different company who are cheaper and faster.

    At least you have the LA weather and scenery, and a nice cat, to take your mind off not having the internet. We depend on the Web to keep up with the Hollywood gossip, you just have to go to work!

    And DVDs don’t generate the kind of radiation that phones do so kitty is safe.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

