Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

Something happened while I was asleep.

I only had half a weekend, as I lost most of Saturday due to my getting home from work at 7 am. I would have gotten home at 6 am, but the Universal security guards locked all but one of the lot’s gates sometime Friday night, and then neglected to tell us which gate was open, so we had a Keystone Kops ™ moment while we all drove around the lot in a little caravan looking for a way to get the hell out of there.

It’s funny now, but at the time I think I sobbed and bashed my forehead against the dashboard because I just wanted to go home.

When I woke up Saturday afternoon, it had suddenly gotten really hot – I think what woke me up was my being covered in sweat due to my not having removed my long underwear (hey, it was cold up until Saturday afternoon) before passing out on the couch.

It’s been hot all weekend and it’s still hot today:

It's hot!

This is completely unfair. It’s not even summer yet.

Aaannnnd one more photo:

Discards

One of the Flickr commenters requested a backstory for this – the uninteresting truth is that I was out riding the bike and saw these two on the curb.

So, we’re all smart and have overactive imaginations – let’s make up a backstory, shall we? I’m not working for the next couple of days and need some entertainment :)

Filed under: life in LA, Photos, Work

10 Responses

  1. JCW says:

    Following their quickie wedding at City Hall, Raggedy Ann & Andy got smashed at the corner bar and passed out while waiting for their Honeymoon bus to Vegas?

  2. Alison says:

    You know how you always hear the story of people driving thru the “Jaws” lake at Uni ? My boss actually did it once in her Miata ! It’s not that hard to almost drive thru there if you are following a tram trying to get out of there, esp. at night !

  3. getsheila says:

    Ann: “Are you sure mom and dad are coming back? They’ve been gone an awfully long time.”

    Andy: “Shut up and keep trying to reach the knots.”

  4. JohnC says:

    In an effort to beautify West Hollywood, they’ve hired costume designers to dress up their homeless people.

  5. nezza says:

    Okay – if this is the state the bride and groom are in, you have to go out and find the bridesmaids quick!!

  6. RC says:

    It was good for me, how about you?

  7. Proto says:

    winter revelers melt in unseasonably warm weather. said one: “glub glub”. film at eleven.

  8. james fulton says:

    I’m rooting hard for you when you’re struggling to find work, but I’m baffled that you couldn’t cope with a minor detail like the gate-closings, once you landed a job at Universal.

    Peggy sez: Remember, I’d been awake all night – and it wasn’t just me. There were others trapped in the gates of hell, so to speak. We kept having the guards at each River Road gate (at opposite ends of the lot) tell us that it was the other gate that was open. We finally had to drive through an area that’s technically off-limits (Dreamworks’ parking lot) in order to reach the one gate that actually was open.

  9. Crew Guy says:

    Ohh how many times has that happened to me there. You just get so frustrated especially when your in a caravan. Every body stops and the lead person has to get out of their car to tell the last person to back up. And they shoot back ” Maybe security will open the gate for us.” NO NO just head to the main Gate. After 16 hours, it’s what damn lot am I on. My brain has turned to pudding.!!!! I HAVE FELT YOUR PAIN !!!!!!!

  10. Meg says:

    My husband had just finished doing timecards (BB Grip 2nd unit feature) when I told him about you having to search for an open gate at Universal. He said “did you re-do your timecards?” Hee hee hee. Always thinking about the bottom line.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

