Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

Friday Photo

Although I worked yesterday, I’m having a really bad ADD day today and can’t settle down enough to write about it.

So, here’s a photo:

Fiberglass prehistoric tragedy reenactment

This is from the Lake Pit at the La Brea Tar Pits. When you grow up in Southern California, this is a common field trip destination – when I was a kid, I felt so sorry for the poor mammoth thing in the tar – and the little baby mammoth on the shore, crying for it’s parent. I’d imagine them on a hot summer day, just trying to get a drink and getting stuck in the tar.

A few years ago, I went back to the tar pits with a friend’s kid, and I learned that the Lake Pit was a 19th century tar quarry, and only turned into a lake due to groundwater seepage in the early 20th century.

Damn you, fiberglass statues. You lied to me for all those years.

Filed under: Non-Work, Photos

5 Responses

  1. snarkolepsy says:

    Mmmmmm. I bet that tar smells great in 90 degree weather.

  2. Dave2 says:

    Still a little bit sad though… even for fiberglass statues. :-)

  3. Meg says:

    Also having grown up in So Cal, I thought it amusing that the name was The Tar Tar Pits (La Brea meaning tar in Spanish.) Ah the gringo naming of things….

  4. Peter says:

    I was surprised to see that the tar pits were actually a fairly thin coat of tar on top of water. For some reason I though they were deep pits consisting entirely of tar.

  5. kevin_m says:

    Wow. That’s so disillusioning. There was an Anthony Edwards movie back in 1988 called Miracle Mile where the La Brea tar pits where a major plot point. One character gets trapped in them and the implication is that it makes him immortal. That is, someone will find him a thousand years from now and he’ll be perfectly preserved… because of the tar.

    Gee, thanks for ruining what had been a magical, wonderful memory from my childhood. (Sob…)

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 583 other followers

