Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

Midweek update

This week, I’m on the rigging crew for yet another comic book movie (I have no idea which character, and quite frankly, as long as the checks clear, I don’t care. I never was much of a comic book reader, but I do like money).

On this movie, we’ve been having some very long days. Normally, rig days are never over 12 hours (and are sometimes 8 or 10 hours) – but Monday was a 16 hour day, Tuesday was a 14 hour day, and today was a 12 hour day (hey, at least the days are getting shorter). We think we’re about ready to go home, and then the shooting crew comes in and all hell breaks loose while we scramble around like crazy for another few hours.

I try to see the cause of the chaos, but I can’t – everyone in every department is competent and doing his or her job well – so I’ve developed a theory:

Just like really big forest fires that generate their own weather patterns, really big movies (and this one’s gotta be at least 100 million dollars), generate their own chaos.

It doesn’t matter how well prepared we are, nor does it matter how fast we work or how much stuff we rig – hell it doesn’t matter how well any department does it’s job, because there’s this vortex over our heads that’s sucking up our good intentions and raining pandemonium down upon our heads.

Part of the fun of coming in after first unit are done (they’re working nights, so when we come in in the morning, they’ve just left), is finding strange things that have been left behind by very, very tired people.

Like today:

Abandoned plate of cake

I can honestly say that this is the first time I’ve ever found an abandoned plate of cake in a freezer bag on a set.

Maybe I just think this is funny because I’m so tired.

Maybe I should go to bed.

Filed under: Photos, Work

10 Responses

  1. Meg says:

    Hey! Who touched my cake?

  2. Jen says:

    I’d take it home with me.

  3. GetSheila says:

    Beware the Graphic Novel people. They take offense when their work is referred to as Comic Books.

    I think these are the same people who get offended if you call them a Trekkie and not a Trekker (which I am officially allowed to poke fun at because I am a Trekkie and just fine with that label, thank you.)

    Hope you get some good sleep.

  4. rickfle says:

    There is surely something that happens on “big” movies: they begin to sink under the weight of their own self-importance. Especially when there is a lot of buzz during filming, the directors start to think that the significance of the project outweighs good behavior. After a while, a momentum builds up that is simply unstoppable. It’s not pretty, but I’ve seen it happen so many times that it must be true. It’s happening on the project I’m on now.

  5. steve says:

    [correct guess at the name of the movie redacted due to the draconian non-disclosure agreement we’ve had to sign]. is a comic book, right Peggy?

  6. mike80 says:

    I’m guessing you are on [correct guess at the name of the movie redacted due to the draconian non-disclosure agreement we’ve had to sign]. Perhaps [star of the movie’s name redacted] was saving that cake for later……

  7. Dave2 says:

    Why can’t we finally get a Wonder Woman movie?

    Superman, Batman, Spider-Man, X-Men, Fantastic Four, Daredevil… where is the Wonder Woman love?

    (Peggy sez: Wonder Woman is slated for a 2009 release, according to IMDB, although it might not happen since Joss Whedon’s apparently bailed)

  8. boskolives says:

    A nice portrait of a lunchbox, and part of someone’s lunch.
    Unless the cake was leftover props/set dec stuff.

    http://boskolives.wordpress.com/

  9. Karyn says:

    I’m in the film industry in Oz, and must say, being as I am currently out-of-work, it’s great to be able to log on to your blog and feel the sense of togetherness I get from the realisation that people like us go thru the same shit everywhere.

    I’ve also been keeping myself entertained with my friend’s blog, which may be of interest to your readers as he is a soundie in Brisbane (aka BrisVegas, Brisneyland) the capital of Queensland, Australia, for those who care to know: http://chrisyg.blogspot.com/

    Would love to see that WW project come together, that would be wicked! Thanks for helping me kill some time while I wait for ‘the call’ ~ Kaz

  10. Sheila West says:

    So do they also make you guys clean up other people’s trash?

    Peggy sez: No, we only pick up our own trash. ‘Cause we care.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

