Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

It’s way across town, but at least it’s cool

Today we were working at the stages (which used to be Hughes Aircraft manufacturing plant) near the coast – good because it’s starting to get warm again and it’s always way cooler near the ocean, bad because gas is now over $3.00 per gallon and it’s costing me a fortune to get to work and back.

The upper level (I don’t know what to call it – it’s not really a catwalk, and not really a full floor. It’s more of an elevated space between the two connected hangars. I have no idea what would have been up there when the place was in business) probably hasn’t been cleaned since the workers there were still cranking out helicopters, and there’s a good coating of really nasty dust up there, so I was glad when I got pulled off the cable team and sent to go wire duplexes (that’s wall outlets to you, pilgrim).

Excellent timing too – I was just about ready to go to the truck and beg for a dust mask (I may still have to do that since I’m certain I’ll be back up there pulling cable at some point). At least the old hangars don’t have any asbestos – some years ago, I worked on a music video that shot in the office building and the place was full of it.

Compared to last week, we had a fairly easy day (I only worked 70 hours last week – the people who were on for six days did over 80), and I was home in time to cook something to take with me for lunch tomorrow, since there really aren’t any reasonably priced places to eat (besides fast food which I try to avoid) near the stages.

Filed under: Work

9 Responses

  1. Stan says:

    Many years ago I went to a party that was held in one of the old Hughes Helicopter buildings. That was kind of weird but fun. And even more years before that, I worked there.

    That was the late ’80s when GM owned Hughes. It was a good place to work then, but the old timers said that before Howard Hughes died it was even better. They said that in the old days it was basically Howard Hughes’s hobby shop, and they could work on fun projects and there was no pressure to make a profit.

  2. snarkolepsy says:

    Only 70 hours? Slacker.

    Just kidding!

    Love your new photos.

  3. PDQ says:

    If you’re looking for a place to eat over there that’s close by you can always try Dinah’s on Sepulveda just south of Centinela or The Coffee Company on La Tijera just east of Sepulveda. Pann’s at the intersection of Centinela/La Tijera/La Cienega is good too but it might be too far away if you’re tight on time.

  4. Chris says:

    Just noticed that your blog doesn’t know about daylight savings time…

    Peggy sez: Thanks! I hadn’t noticed that. Hopefully, it’s fixed now (although I could have just made it worse since it is 5:30 am and I haven’t had any coffee yet).

  5. Alison says:

    A good place to eat really near you is Go Veggie on Centinela/Lucille just North of Jefferson.

    “Go Veggie has great sandwiches (think scooped avocado, turkey and swiss on wheat bread) as well as hot selections like curry vegatbles and tofu, fresh vegetable soup, broiled chicken and a salad bar offering more than the standard options .”-from Chowhound .com

    There also a little place that Frank Gehry designed for his company somewhere in that Playa Vista complex & a Bristol Farms up on Lincoln Blvd. on the hill behind you, which has takeout & sandwiches, salads, etc.

  6. Chris says:

    You’ve got Alejo’s, Hacienda del Rey, some rib joint, Italy’s Little Kitchen and some other pizza places up the hill on Lincoln in Westchester, directly across from the Bristol Farms. Up in the Ralphs plaza at Overland and Jefferson there’s a nice little Indian buffet (offering vegetarian fare alongside the chicken) as well as sushi and the usual Quiznos style stuff. There’s a taqueria up on Centinela about a stones throw away, and Sakura, who do a decent bento box at lunch time.

    Failing all that, the lead man on the show I just started at Sony asked me if I still read your blog, and I know he’d like to take you to lunch.

  7. Peter says:

    The upper level (I don’t know what to call it – it’s not really a catwalk, and not really a full floor. It’s more of an elevated space between the two connected hangars. I have no idea what would have been up there when the place was in business)

    Another one of Howard’s secret lairs?

  8. Charli says:

    burritos are the only way to go when going fast food. You’re right about it being cooler by the ocean, I’m right across from it and I have to wear a light jacket when I go out.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

