Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

And so my ‘vacation’ comes to an end.

During my week off, I accomplished absolutely nothing – I didn’t clean the house, I didn’t get the car serviced, I didn’t go through the pile of mail, I didn’t take the cat to the vet, and I didn’t do laundry until today.

I’m back to work on Monday, when I’ll have a legit excuse to not get anything done around here.

Just for the hell of it, here’s a photo:

Camo netting

Sometimes, if the camera sees a bit of the side of the truck or the base of a condor, instead of moving it (which sometimes isn’t possible), the grips will drape camo netting over it so it looks like background greenery.

Sometimes, in the theater, if you look really hard at the background, you can spot the camo netting because it’s never exactly the same color as the surrounding foliage, but if the audience is concentrating on an out-of-focus background, I’m guessing the movie’s got bigger problems than a truck in the frame, now doesn’t it?

Filed under: Uncategorized

4 Responses

  1. Meg says:

    Thanks for recommending “Hot Fuzz”-I have not laughed so hard at a movie in ages. Yarg!

  2. Charli says:

    Noooooo, you can’t be back at work, we didn’t get together yet, hyuck. Awful week for me, my little short film was in production and we had several things go wrong. I had an actor say his lines in front of camera, we are talking 1 1/2 pages is all, after 2 freakin’ hours we realize we’re going to either dub his voice or give him one more shot at it, sigh. I suppose the big jobs you work on are even worse.

    Let us know when your next breather is.

  3. Chris says:

    Yeah, that’s our fall back feeling in set decoration when we can’t get something dressed to our superiors satisfaction.

    That’s why, on the latest POS from (insert big studio name here) I just finished, we had to take extra special care to make everything was perfect, because the audience sure ain’t gonna be watching the action…

  4. nezza says:

    Procrastination… “the thief of time”. He’s always stealing all my time too.
    ;o)

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

