Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

A little sugar cures just about anything

So I didn’t get right back on the day schedule like I’d hoped and was fuzzy and sleepy today (and now, at 9:30 pm, I’m wide awake. Dammit).

Added to that, I got the mid-afternoon blood sugar drop (around 4 pm), which for some reason never happens to me when I work nights – I never get a post lunch blood sugar plummet at 3 am and need a cookie.

Over the years, I have done the following things when my blood sugar has gotten low:

  • Attempted to walk through a closed sliding glass door (in my defense, it was a really clean sliding glass door) in front of the entire shooting crew. This resulted in the unfortunate nickname of “Birdie”, which followed me for… three movies, I think.
  • Stabbed myself in the knuckle while cutting gels – the statement that getting cut with a really sharp knife doesn’t hurt is only partly true – even a sharp knife will hurt like hell once it hits a bone. On the bright side, that one did wake me up pretty quick.
  • Ran up behind a complete stranger and pinched him on the ass because, from the back, I thought he looked like the guy I was dating at the time (he didn’t – I just had a dangerously low cookie level). That one didn’t wake me up so much as it made me want to sink into the hole that I desperately wished would open up in the sidewalk, but, of course, did not.

So today, in the middle of our moving all of our staged equipment to the other side of the stage (first unit need to put their carts where we had our stuff, so our stuff has to move – it’s actually closer to the next set we have to rig, so it works out for the best) just when I was feeling really draggy and non-focusy and had repeatedly walked past a stack of an item I’d been desperately looking for and hadn’t noticed, the craft service assistant wandered by with a tray of cookies in each hand – and judging by the way just about everyone around descended on her like a plague of locusts, I guess I wasn’t the only one who needed some sugar.
Two cookies later and I was all bounce – plus, I finally saw that pile of cable jumpers* I’d been looking for.

*jumpers are short lengths of cable – usually 6 or 10 feet – that are used to “jump” between two items that are very close together, say, like a spider box and a power distribution box or three.

Filed under: Work

5 Responses

  1. Charli says:

    You haven’t lived until you’ve had cookies from the Santa Cruz Cookie Company. We use to buy ’em all the time. I won’t eat store bought cookies, yes, I’m a food snob.

  2. she_said says:

    Starbucks used to have these fabulous chocolate cupcakes. They were the only thing that got me through a period where I was working 7 days a week for a really long time. I never really believed in that sugar thing till then. Luckily they stopped selling them – or that would have been another problem.

  3. nezza says:

    I’ve walked into one of those doors too. Embarrassingly I did it about 30 minutes after I had laughed hysterically at someone else doing the same thing. Same door as well. I think the “bounceback” actually had me end up sitting on the floor.

  4. Charli says:

    I went to Mrs. Field’s cookies and had two cookies. I think this post has subliminal messages.

  5. Shannon says:

    “Walked through a closed glass door…..looked really clean.”

    been there, done that. LOL

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

