Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

Friday Photo

Knee - side view Xray.

As much as I wanted to title this post “It’s not a too-mah”, that bump on my femur, is, in fact, a tumor.

The good news is that it’s a benign tumor, so they’re going to MRI it again in four months and if it’s not gotten any bigger, it gets to take a trip to the ‘ignore’ file.

In other good news, I won’t be needing surgery on my knee. As best I understand it, I fucked up the thing that goes over the kneecap, and as a result I’ll need physical therapy three times a week for the next four weeks, and I can’t do squats or lunges at the gym (but I can swim as much as I want to and bicycle as long as I raise the seat so the knee’s not bent too much). And – I’m able to work with the aid of the world’s largest knee brace.

Sweeeet.

As much as I might like to joke about sitting around on my ass collecting disability, the fact is that I don’t like being out of work when there’s work to be had.

I was so happy about not having to have surgery, that after I ran some other errands and went swimming for an hour (hey, the doctor said I could) I stopped at Mozza on the way home and had some pizza and a really excellent glass of wine (my last for the next 10 days, as I’m starting back onto the heavy-duty anti-inflammatory drugs).

The consequences I’m currently suffering because of the cheese are totally worth it.

Yay! No surgery!

Filed under: Non-Work, Photos, , , , , , , , ,

12 Responses

  1. JCW says:

    Well THANK EFFIN GOD! Ever since you posted about this I’ve been worried. Early this year, our cat died (And you kindly wrote words of encouragement), Then Dad got diagnosed with prostate cancer, then last month my older brother had a major stroke.

    Had you turned out to have a malignancy, I think I’d have had to jump off an overpass.

    You keep an eye on that thing – you hear? Meanwhile, heartfelt congratulations on dodging the Big C!

  2. nezza says:

    I was very relieved to hear the word ‘benign’ there too and, to echo JCW, PLEASE look after yourself.

  3. holygirl427 says:

    Oh good! I’ve had everything crossed that I could have crossed for you (which makes typing really hard). I’m glad to know you are ok!

  4. GetSheila says:

    It IS a too-mah? Well, at least it has a kindly disposition. Sending cheesy thoughts your way. :)

  5. Meg says:

    Wow. Glad to hear that it is benign. Bummer that you have one at all, but that you can still swim and bicycle. Happy physical therapy-been there, done that. Hope it helps!

  6. Charli says:

    Phew! Now, go out and play a game of rugby, just kidding. Go get some acupuncture, it works. I have two bad knees from rugby and honestly, I felt much better when he got the blood flowing back again. Take care of yourself.

  7. Carrie says:

    Hey Mozza! I love that place. Feel better soon.

  8. Chris says:

    That’s one helluva femur. Those lunges were obviously paying off. Good bone density, too. No osteoporosis for you!

  9. CG says:

    (cheering)

  10. kato says:

    Nice pins!

  11. scotsirishgirl says:

    Thank all the gods it’s benign!!! (dealing mom having stage 4 lung cancer right now…totally sucks…but, mom’s a trooper and holding her own)

    The phyther should do the trick. Had to do that for my eff’d up shoulder. It really works.

    love and hugs!

  12. btl says:

    Ah, cheese. Did I mention I’m also lactose intolerant? Now that’s just weird.

    When I started PT for my knees I kept asking, “Are you sure I don’t have to quit my job? No, but are you SURE?” Maybe it’s a sign. Or not. I’m just saying.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 583 other followers

