Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

A nice, relaxing “weekend”

After working all weekend (on a music video – which means we got run half to death due to lack of planning on production’s part), Monday was doctor day for both me and the car.

The car had to go in because, of course, as soon as it got really hot, the air conditioner stopped working. Normally, I don’t use the a/c that much (it’s really bad for fuel economy in the land of the $3.00 gallon of gas), but lately it’s been sufficiently oven-like around here that I can’t stand to sit in a traffic jam (daily occurrence here in LA) when I feel like I’m going to die from the heat.

The mechanic wasn’t sure if I need a new compressor or not, so he put some freon in and told me to see how the a/c works for the next couple of weeks. Hopefully, the heat will be over in the next couple of weeks and I can proceed to ignore the a/c until next summer.

After I dropped the car off, I went to the doctor about the knee which has been hurting like hell – but it’s the other knee this time. When the he sent me to the x-ray tech, he sighed and said “Well, let’s see what weird thing’s in this knee. I wish you could have something normal go wrong with you”.

Hey, knee problems are totally normal in my line of work.

The good news is that there isn’t anything strange on the x-ray, but the bad news is that there’s no immediate explanation for the pain (other than years of abuse), so I’m getting an MRI on Saturday.

I’m working tonight, but I don’t have to be there until 6 pm (and when I do get there I’m going up in the condor, so I can sleep once everything’s set).

Filed under: life in LA, mishaps, Work, , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses

  1. Charli says:

    Dang, so that means asking to see if you want to play some beach football with a bunch of indie filmmakers is out, huh? Going on the Sept. 1st to play and I’m thinking of icing my right knee and right ankle a week before I play, sigh.

  2. Meg says:

    It’s possible that the pain in your other knee is because you have been favoring the one with the brace, hence more work for the “unhurt” one. Just a theory.

  3. nezza says:

    I was thinking along the same lines as Meg.
    Perhaps you have been over-compensating a little on the other leg?

    (Oh dear…the accidental rhyming is sadly now amusing me!)

  4. JCW says:

    I second (Third?) Meg,

    I had a hip replacement when I was 20. We’re talking my right hip and my left leg as always been the stronger of the two – I definitely favor my left. As a result, I do have go ’rounds with pain in my left knee.

    Has anyone spoken about arthoscopic surgery to remove the benign tumor in your knee?

    Peggy sez: No, they’re not planning on removing it – the logic being that it’s not hurting anything.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

