Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

This time, Kismet works for me.

Usually, when I’m not working it’s a bad thing and I practically glue the phone to the side of my head making calls to scrounge up something – anything.

Sometimes, though, not working isn’t really all that bad.

It’s gotten hot here in Los Angeles – not only is it hot, but the monsoonal rains over the desert – while they’ve given us some beautiful fluffy clouds and a couple of truly spectacular sunsets – have made the humidity shoot up to the point that you can damn near step outside and cut the air with a knife. It’s also not cooling off at night like it usually does, meaning that opening the windows to let in the ‘cool’ night air is completely fucking pointless.

For some reason, when it’s miserably hot I get called to work in the hottest part of the city, doing something that makes me even hotter, such as spending 12 hours up in the perms on an un-air conditioned stage or pulling heavy cable through something that makes me sneeze or break out in an itchy rash. I find myself counting the days until it cools off.

Although I really want to say that the heat’s almost over, I seem to remember it being hot until Thanksgiving last year, and I can’t go that long without working, so at some point I’m just going to have to suck it up and deal with the heat, but even that’s going to have to wait.

The other thing that’s happening this week is that I’ve got a horrible case of the P.M.S.

Not only do I have a Mr. Burns caliber glower going (I frightened a small child today and I didn’t even try), but during the course of the day I’ve lost my temper and shaken my fist while cursing the very existence of the following people, places and things:

WordPress

The Internet

The French

Flip Flops

Gravity

Culver City

Eddie Money

Chevrolet

MySpace

Actually, that last one’s a stretch. Whenever I log on, I shake my fist and curse the very existence of MySpace. You’d think for the money they got when they sold that boat anchor, they’d have hired someone to make the fucking thing work.

Given my current mood, it’s probably better that I’m not at work – I’d just piss my co-workers off.

Tomorrow, since I’m not working, I’m going to either go to the beach (and not go to the beach and ride the bike because I feel like I need some exercise. I mean go to the beach and sit on a towel with a book and not do anything) or use up a shitload of my movie passes and see a bunch of movies.

Either way, it’ll keep me out of the heat.

UPDATE: Laurie over at Crazy Aunt Purl posted a photo of her truly horrifying drivers license photo. The photo’s funny as hell (in a horrifying kind of way), but the comments are even funnier. Although I now have a stitch in my side from laughing, I feel much better.

Filed under: cranky, Non-Work, , , , , , ,

11 Responses

  1. Michael says:

    What an unpleasant entry.

    You hate the French? Is that supposed to be funny, or are you really a cliche?

    And, PMS? There is no such thing.

    I’m unsubscribing from your blog. You’re like the annoying friend who calls you up to complain.

    Peggy sez: Je suis desolle! (or maybe not) You seem rather PMS-ish, too! We should have a pyjamas party with a chick flick and chocolate ice cream.

  2. Burbanked says:

    Now how could anyone possibly hate Eddie Money? He’s got two tickets to paradise.

    Peggy sez: Oh, I don’t hate Eddie – he just got on my nerves when the building’s maintenance guy played an Eddie Money album over and over and over until I snapped.

  3. Anonymous says:

    How do you say “Have fun getting flamed” in French?

  4. Enguerrand says:

    You would say something like “c’est si bon de se faire critiquer”…

    Now, thanks to you I learnt what “syndrome pré-menstruel” was in english!

  5. Peter says:

    You may curse the existence of gravity, but life would be pretty difficult without it. Okay, so it might be fun for a little while.

  6. Marste says:

    I’m in a similar mood today, so thanks for the post. And that link was hysterical.

    As for the commenter Michael saying that you were the annoying friend who calls just to complain . . . um, seeing as how HE only posted to complain (about your complaining). . . pot, meet kettle. Hee. I loves me some irony. Especially when I’m PMS-ing.

  7. nezza says:

    Moaning is one of life’s perks, and to be boring and philosophical, the bad days help us appreciate the good days more.

    (And Michael couldn’t be more wrong about PMS.)

  8. Charli says:

    Well, if you’re not doing anything on Saturday and still have that aggressive attitude, I’m set to play beach football with some guys at Venice, you can’t miss us, a bunch of filmmaker guys without coordination attempt to catch a football. Come join us, we start at 10am, I know, it’s early, but parking is a bitch.

  9. nezza says:

    Oh…and if you think that driver’s licence photo was bad you should see my passport photo!

    Last year when I came over the US the scary immigration guy at Newark Airport kept looking from me to the photo, me to the photo, me to the photo (and repeat for about 10 mins) before finally declaring “you don’t look like your photo”. I really thought he wasn’t going to let me in.

    (I have grown my hair and had corrective eye surgery since it was taken, but even so…!)

    Even my aunt didn’t recognise it as me when she saw the spare pictures pinned to my notice board. She thought it was some ‘random’ woman in her 50s. (I am 26 in the photo. LOL. It’s all a bit demoralising…)

  10. snarkolepsy says:

    Well.. maybe you should have some milk. Because apparently the milk commission thought it was a grand fun idea to make commercials saying milk cures PMS.

    But, I thought your post was pretty funny.

    I once got pissed off at the wind because I hadn’t slept in so long. It sounds crazy to everyone else.. but only someone who looses so much sleep can really enjoy the humor.

    Peggy sez: It doesn’t sound crazy to me. I can totally picture myself running out of the house in the middle of the night, wearing only my underwear, shaking my fist at the sky and yelling “Damn you, wind! I’ll get you when you least expect it!”

  11. Dave2 says:

    Oh great. Now I’ve got Eddie Money’s “Take Me Home Tonight” stuck in my head…

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

