Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

They tricked me!

Due to my being sick yesterday (okay, not so much the contagious type of sick as suffering the onset of Southern California’s allergy season with my sinuses packed so full of goo that I’m afraid my head’s going to explode at any moment – you know, like in Scanners), I didn’t do anything productive like I’d planned. No gym, no bike ride, no working on anything. I just went to the movies where my constant nose-blowing would blend in with everyone else’s constant nose-blowing.

Did I mention that it’s now allergy season here in SoCal? I did? Sorry. I’m blaming the antihistamines, which don’t clear my head up so much as make me so loopy that I don’t notice it – or have a short term memory, but that’s..

Wait.. what was I saying?

Oh, the movies.

I saw 3:10 to Yuma, which was fun – I love Westerns (and in fact, I wrote my film school thesis on the evolution of the western), and I’m sad that now we’re going to see a resurgence of simple-minded dreck thrown together by suits hoping to cash in on a trend.

Seriously, go see this one – the dude playing the bad guy’s sidekick really steals the show.

Then, because I could, I theater-hopped and snuck into The Brave One. I was expecting to see an action movie where people get shot every few minutes (which would have gone great with the surreal time-delay thing I’ve had all day), but instead what I saw was a chick-flick disguised as a real movie. I hate chick-flicks more than I hate any other movie genre (including cheap, crappy horror movies, which are at least funny).

Had I known this was a chick-flick, I never would have seen it – I blame the deceptive marketing campaign that made it look like fun. Bastards.

The dirt. It won’t come off no matter how hard I scrub.

On a happier note, I feel much better today. My head’s still packed with goo, but at least my brain seems to be working a bit better.

If my brain continues to function throughout the day, I’ll get on the phone and try to drum up some work.

Filed under: cranky, humor, life in LA, Los Angeles, Non-Work, Off-Topic, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

12 Responses

  1. Bob says:

    What works great for me is using a nasal rinse (lavage). Since I started doing that my sinitus and allergies have virtually disappeared. I just thought I would share that with you.

  2. Proto says:

    Glad you’re feeling better. I agree, more westerns, less chick flicks, and better anti-congestion meds.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Did I not mention Vitamin C a time back, but nooooo, you and many like you think large doses of Vitamin C is voodoo magic and you won’t go near it, so suffer girl, suffer. I’ve been free from nasal drip for a while now and I make a point of taking 2000-4000mg (yes, it sounds like a lot) a day. I put my Afrin nasal spray away for good.

    I saw, “Brave One” yesterday (my building’s water was shut off so that to me was an excuse to go to the movies) and I dare say it was not a chic-flick, it was drama. A chick-flick involves this sensation called “crying” and no one shed a single drop during the entire movie, not a one.

    Did you notice that Jodie, no matter what attempt she makes to play the victim, has a walk like a superhero? Well, I liked the film but I wouldn’t go see it twice, not my cup of tea.

    Peggy sez: I did try the large dose of Vitamin C and what it did to my intestinal tract is not fit for even indecent conversation. The most I can take is 1,000 mg per day before I suffer side effects.

    I’m also going to have to stick to my guns about “The Brave One”. Total chick flick (and I mean that in the worst possible way – although it wasn’t nearly as bad as the abomination called “Sex and the City”, which was a chick TV series) and not that dramatic to boot. In between bouts of hoping desperately that it was going to get better, I just really wanted a magazine and a reading light. :)

  4. Not4me says:

    I agree, Ben Foster’s break-through performance.

  5. pixie says:

    Instead of (or in addition to) better meds, have you ever used a neti pot? Basically, you flush your nasal passages with a warm saline solution using essentially a small teapot to pour the solution through one nostril and out the other (repeat)(oh, and blow your nose) (repeat again) (more nose blowing). Sounds gross, but it’s amazing how well it works. At first you might want to flush several times a day, but after awhile it should just become part of your morning/evening ritual of showering. You certainly can spend a lot for a special pot and prepacked solutions, but my pot is an old small teapot and my solution is warm water and sea salt. Good luck and I hope you feel better.

  6. tndaisy1960 says:

    I am female, but like you, I loathe, detest, and despise chick flicks. I hate romantic comedies of any sort. Give me aliens Star Trek rulz!), monsters, a good kickass karate movie, a war movie, anything but a subversive ploy by the Kleenex people to drum up more business!

    I can sympathize wth the allergies too, although I live in NorCal. Hope you feel better soon :)

  7. Charli says:

    Whoa, I came up anonymous. Too bad your intestinal tract cannot handle more than 1k gram of Vitamin C. I swear by it. I still stand by that “Brave One” is not a chick-flick, but I think we can agree on this, Jodie is not a chick, that girl is a broad, in a good way.

    I suppose we should buy you a case of kleenix for xmas?

  8. Peter says:

    the abomination called “Sex and the City”, which was a chick TV series

    Actually, it was a gay men’s TV series disguised as a chick TV series.

  9. Dan says:

    Half way through “The Brave One”, I started thinking about what to do with the rest of my day. Never a good sign. How in the world to you screw up a revenge flick for god’s sake?! I didn’t think of it as a chick flick (I personally love a good chick flick. “Love Actually” anyone?). I just thought of it as boring Hollywood dreck. I can’t think of anything Hollywood put out this year that I actually enjoyed. I’m completey positive that Syd Field ruined movies. He is the devil.

  10. nezza says:

    I have to admit I love a good chick flick too. WAIT! I said a GOOD one. There are some shockingly awful ones out there. (That recentish one with Hugh Grant and Drew Barrymore for example.)

    My least favourite sort of film are those where Eddie Murphy feels he must dress up in a fat suit and play multiple characters. (Please don’t hate me Eddie Murphy fans.)

    Peggy sez: I think we should pass some sort of law preventing Eddie Murphy from dressing in fat suits and playing more than one character per movie ever again. Who’s with me?

  11. Charli says:

    Nezz – please tell me you loved Pride & Prejudice with Kiera Knightly.

  12. nezza says:

    Charli – I’m sure I would, but I haven’t actually seen it!

    Peggy – I am of course with you on that. The same goes for whoever it is in the Big Momma “movies”.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

