Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

If it’s 1 am where I was, what day is it where I am now?

I’m back, I had a great time but right now I’m incredibly tired.

I have three gigs of photos (and that’s just the digital stuff – I won’t get the film back for a few days) to go through, but all I’m going to try to get done today is laundry. Plus, I have to eat some vegetables – I think my cholesterol’s gone up 100 points in the past 10 days.

As much time as I spend bitching about my fucked up sleep schedule, this time it worked to my advantage – I adjusted to the time change really quickly, so I’m hoping today is the only day I’ll only feel like boiled gym socks.

In brief because my brain’s not really working right now:

Of course, when we were in Paris, there was a transit workers strike, so I missed some stuff I’d wanted to see (also because things were opening late and closing early) and it took us three hours to get from our hotel near the Luxembourg Garden to Orly airport (which was where we picked up the car).

Speaking of cars, we didn’t get one with an onboard navigation system because we thought we’d be fine with a map. Oh, how wrong we were. I don’t think any of us are going to make that mistake again – and probably wouldn’t have made that choice in the first place if someone had warned us in advance that in some of the smaller towns in France there aren’t any street signs. I’m sure this made good sense in the past (confuse the hell out of the invaders and they might just give up and go home), but now it’s just annoying. I’m not going to take over – I just want lunch.

Leaning out over the battlements of a medieval castle and yelling “I fart in your general direction!” is exactly as much fun as I’d imagined.

I can’t. eat. any. more. bread.

Oh, and because I know there’s one picture everyone’s dying to see:

Paris Couch

More later, when I feel more like a human being.

Filed under: Non-Work, , , , ,

10 Responses

  1. Meg says:

    Welcome back! Love the random Monty Python reference. Screwed up sleep schedule? Well, the strike’s still on, so you have PLENTY of time to get turned around to “normal.”

  2. travelgirl says:

    driving in france, especially paris, can be a nightmare for the reasons you describe. however, rural france can be even worse: (1) signs are not always posted, (2) they don’t always point in the right direction, (3) “highways” are sometimes just one lane for both directions, (4) french maps are not always inclusive (or correct) regarding rural thoroughfares, and (5) it’s not unusual to be able to see only 50-100 metres because the roads are bounded by fields, deep ditches, and farm houses in an effort to make sure you can’t drive in a straight line… oh, and (5) never drive on this “highways” at night unless you are a suicide jockey…

    Peggy sez: Where were you before we rented the car? Our appointed navigator came uncomfortably close to madness on more than one occasion for just these reasons.

  3. nezza says:

    J’aime beaucoup le couch francais!

    Glad to hear you had a good trip, and look forward to catching up on your adventures and accompanying photos.

  4. Not4me says:

    You missed the wiring of the Christmas lights at Paramount.

  5. Dave2 says:

    Transit strikes make for vacation hell, and it seems I’m a magnet for them, because I always seem to be arriving just as they go into effect! Happy to hear that you’re home safe and sound!

  6. Floyd says:

    So what I want to know is, did any of these sophisticated French folk who built this beautiful city and even made their abandoned farm houses with classy brickwork get excited like clods from Iowa when they found out you worked behind the scenes in Hollywood on stuff they had watched themselves and had acually spoken to celebrities they had seen on the screen?

    A clod in California wants to know.

  7. geekhiker says:

    Welcome back. I’m looking forward to drooling over the copious vacation pictures already…

  8. David H. says:

    Yay! Glad to see you are back safe and sound despite the best efforts of the French. I love the couch picture! That’s hilarious. Good to have you back Peggy.

  9. travelgirl says:

    last year, i spent three months in bretagne, and only brushed paris with the car because of the above reasons. i rented the vehicle from the brest airport (extreme northwest) and with the exception of a grande roadtrip to visit friends in other countries spent most of my time in rural bretagne (within 60 miles of guingamp)… if you are looking for parties, you will find them, but they won’t be what you are used to. if you are looking for peace and quiet, you could do worse than bretagne…

    if you ever want to head there (or many other places in western europe), send me mail… i can be hired as guide, too, for not much recompense :)

  10. Peter says:

    Aha, so it’s not just us wasteful Americans who throw out still-serviceable couches!

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

