Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

A week of cautious optimism

Right in the middle of this week full of highly amusing election snark (bye bye, Rudy! Bye bye, Romney! Also, sadly – bye, bye Edwards – the only really pro-labor candidate) , there are rumblings that the WGA might have reached a deal.

Admittedly, this would be totally sweet, but do remember that most of your friendly crew people will continue to be unemployed for about a month after the official end of the strike – it takes time to get a production of any size moving, so although it’ll be over for the WGA, it’ll still be rough for me for a while longer.

Especially since unemployment seem to be stalling me – guess it’s their way of dealing with California’s budget shortfall.

Also, there are now multiple offers on my building (all from developers, of course), so tomorrow’s project is to find a lawyer. I have a feeling I’m going to need one if I don’t want to get screwed.

Also, I still have not gotten tax paperwork from Axium, which doesn’t really surprise me.

Filed under: Non-Work, , , , , ,

5 Responses

  1. Meg says:

    I read that EP had taken over Axium’s accounts. Dunno if that includes their W-2s etc, but maybe you might want to give them a call? My brother the painter is also getting screwed by unemployment.

  2. CJ says:

    You should check online into how much they legally have to give you as relocation compensation. I’m in a WEHO apt. and I have friends in Hlwd., and as a single I’m apparently getting around $5700. My friends are married with child, and are getting a bit more to leave there apartment. Plus, the deposit back. Good luck–I hope the strike ends this weekend, although I have a feeling the studios are trying to pull a fast one. Fingers crossed!

  3. JCW says:

    A friend working on the set with me on MILK has also not received his tax paperwork from Axium. He’s a SAG actor and other SAG members on the set are advising him to call them for instruction. Perhaps your union can tell you how to proceed?

    Failing that, early on I think I recall someone posting here telling you what to do in case Axium didn’t deliver. You might look back through some posts and give what they said a try as it seems nothing is forthcoming from Axium or whoever is running their bankruptcy.

    Side note: Working on a Van Sant set is really interesting – the guy moves pretty fast, very good “vibe” going here.

    I hope that the WGA signs a contract SOON, and SAG gets on the ball – we’ve got at least 4 major productions scheduled for the Bay Area in coming months and I need the work! The little people in the U.S. entertainment industry can thank George Bush for more work this year thanks to his poor economic policies…. at least American cities have a fighting chance against Canada now.

    Wasn’t Gov. Arnie going to do something about that? Did he follow through?

  4. Lucy says:

    I’m having the same problem, but I spoke with a producer today and was told that Axium was supposed to mail their paperwork out yesterday. I’m not holding my breath, but let’s cross our fingers.

  5. Gah! I leave the blogosphere for a few months and everything goes wonky. I have my fingers and toes crossed for you on all fronts.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

