Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

Be afraid. Be very, very afraid.

Champagne in a can!

Champagne in a can! Actually, since it’s from California, it’s technically sparkling wine in a can. I got it as a gag gift over the holidays and jokingly said I’d pop the top when the WGA strike ended.

Now I’m to have to drink it in front of a witness*.

(So-called friend: I’m afraid I’m going to have to watch you drink this. Otherwise how will I know you didn’t just pour it down the drain?

Me: Don’t you trust me?

So-called friend: No. )

Hold me, I’m scared.

* I did cut a deal to not have to drink it before 5 pm, and I may also be able to weasel out of drinking it this week at all since the doc put me on antibiotics for the cough.

Filed under: Photos, Uncategorized, , , ,

14 Responses

  1. David H. says:

    Looks like that would go well with that “Cheeseburger-in-a-Can” that was all the rage in the blogosphere a couple weeks ago. :-)

  2. andrew says:

    I’ve actually had this a few years ago. The story is good – FF Coppola created this when his daughter Sofia was getting married on a beach that didn’t allow glass containers. Not sure how the rest of his winery is received, but the “Sofia” was definitely lacking. Not sure if it was the vintage or the can or both.

    Cool packaging, however, and it comes in a 4-pack brick with a straw attached to the side like a juice box.

  3. John Krill says:

    What a bunch of winers (Hey I just made that up. Or did I.) Doesn’t anyone remember Thunderbird in a one-gallon plastic container?

  4. geekhiker says:

    I look forward to the resulting review with a mixture of anticipation and, most definitely, fear…

  5. Jim says:

    Coppola makes good wines, and some very good wines too. Niebaum Coppola Rubicon at $200/bottle, for instance.

    Champagne/Sparking Wine in a can could be good or bad. Sort of depends on what you’re expecting. If you’re expecting inoffensive inexpensive fizz, it could be ok. Think of drinking beer when doing garden work in the sun. Do you drink fine ale in a chilled glass, or do you crack open a cold Fosters or Coors light?

    You could also package some very good stuff in a can, if you liked.

  6. andyfox1979 says:

    please tell me how this stuff is. i’d like to try it.

  7. Peter says:

    One of the best things about champagne is the impossible-to-duplicate sound of popping the cork. That’ll obviously be missing with this sparkling wine.

  8. Proto says:

    So antibiotics and sparkling wine don’t mix? Why doesn’t the label say that on these antibiotics….

  9. nezza says:

    I’m partial to gin and tonic out of a can at the moment.

  10. Norman says:

    I actually swigged (“swug?”) a can of this stuff a few years ago and I was phenomenally NOT impressed. It definitely did not remotely approach the description that I know and love of “champagne” (unless you count anything liquid with bubbles and a little alcohol content champagne).

    The bubbles do go up your nose if you upend the can in just the correct way, however, so there is something to recommend it.

    Now I’m going to run away and drink some of the Ripple I’ve got stashed underneath the couch.

  11. JCW says:

    Well all I know is Paris Hilton was pushing champagne in a can about a month ago, so before you take a swig you might want to disinfect the can and have the Valtrex ready…

  12. -k- says:

    A welcome addition to my earthquake preparedness kit.

    Peggy sez: That’s a great idea. After the ‘big one’ hits and the city is in shambles, I’m not going to care about the quality of the swill – I’m just going to want a drink.

  13. Debbie says:

    Oh, I am so sorry for you! I was at a big wine festival here in Atlanta and tried that. Even after being at the wine festival and getting to the point of gently swaying in the wind, I could still tell “Sofia” wasn’t tasty.

  14. DaveH says:

    The stuff is great for backpacking — arrive at your campsite, chunk a few cans into the creek and when dinner is ready, you have a passable bubbly to enjoy.

    Also, check out the 3Thieves ‘Bandit’ brand of TetraPak wines. A full liter of passable Merlot for about six bucks.

    My wife’s family grows wine grapes near Fresno and her Dad said that the three most expensive things in most wines are the bottle, the label and the cork…

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

