Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

Friday Photo

Women in the City exhibition

A Cindy Sherman still from the Women In The City exhibit. The exhibit isn’t in a gallery, it’s placed all over the city, mixed in with all those advertising images I usually utterly ignore.

It’s really interesting (the idea of having the art just out in the open mixed in with – and probably mistaken for – ads), and I’m going to try to find more of them, but the directions to the works are kind of vague (“billboard facing Orange St. near Hollywood and Highland”). This one turned out to be inside the “mall” and I only found it when I gave up on trying to find it and went to get a cup of coffee. There’s some message there, I’m sure of it.

Wednesday, I got the anticipated lecture from the judge about keeping better records, and hopefully I managed to convince her that I didn’t intentionally set out to defraud my mighty gub’mint overlords.

The fashion show shoot went well – except that I had an insecure moment Thursday (I normally think I’m just fine the way I am, but spending six hours in a room with models would make you insecure, too – I left the show feeling like I should have my own gravitational pull. I suppose I should take this time to mention that while I’m a tub compared to a 6′ tall model who weighs 90 lbs, objectively I’m pretty svelte. Except for my arms. Years and years of pulling cable have left me with bigger shoulders than the governator) and overdid it at the gym, so today I didn’t do much at all except list my fluorescent tubes on Craig’s List (we use special daylight-balanced tubes, and I don’t remember what show I was on when I bought them, but I haven’t used them in years, so out they go) and take a few photos.

Due to Flickr’s behavior of late (deleting accounts, censoring users, underhanded rights grabs at photos), I’m trying out a different photo service – Zooomr, which is cool even though there are still some glitches with the site. We’ll see how it goes.

Filed under: Non-Work, Photos, , , , , ,

8 Responses

  1. JCW says:

    I’m sorry…. I thought I’ve been following events pretty well,
    but I don’t recall any mention of your having to appear before a judge this week…

    Can you refresh my memory and tell me what that was about?

    Peggy sez: I had an accidental overpayment from unemployment last year due to an accounting error on my part, and they fined me and delayed my claim for six weeks, so I appealed on the grounds that it was excessive punishment for an honest mistake. Hopefully the judge agreed with me.

  2. churk says:

    Try smugmug.com for photos. They look pretty solid and they’re running a 1/2 price special for flickr refugees. I’m thisclose to jumping over there myself.

    Peggy sez: I had a look at it, and I really hate SmugMug’s interface. I appreciate the suggestion, though. Thanks :)

  3. RC says:

    Dear Peggy
    Why don’t you just get your own domain name and post your pictures on your own site and not have to rely on others?

    Glad to hear the strike is over and hope everything works out for you.

    Cheers
    RC Jones
    Sunny Seattle

    Peggy sez: Because that would cost money, and I decided long ago that I wouldn’t pay for a blog.

  4. Charli says:

    I love that picture. Are they spread out all over LA and its surrounding cities, or just LA?

  5. nezza says:

    Have you found any of the others yet?

  6. The 99 cent chef says:

    Another Cindy Sherman billboard is northwest of the Chinese theatre, on Orange Drive (across from the Roosevelt Hotel), above a big constuction pit overlooked by murals of Elizabeth Taylor and Shirley Temple.

  7. RC says:

    OK, I will pay for it, what domain name do you want?

    Cheers
    RC

    Peggy sez: Oooo.. thanks. Can I get totally unauthorized dot com? Probably not. I don’t even know what to get as a domain name.

  8. RC says:

    Sorry, have not visited for a few days… lol.. You are correct the name that you like is taken, there is only unauthorized .name, .net.cn and .ws available… So go search at http://www.directnic.com and see what you come up with… Cheers RC Jones

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

