Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

Welcome back to work. Have some coffee.

I’m a habitual early riser – barring an all-night shoot or some sort of post-midnight catastrophe, I’m up by 8 (if I manage to do anything productive by noon is a completely different story). So when I got a mid-day call to report to work at 3 pm the first thing I did was go to my favorite overpriced coffee joint and order the equivalent of a Big Gulp. Saying ‘no’ to the job didn’t even enter my mind, once I figured out I’d be able to make it to the location on time. Right now I’m in no position to turn down any sort of work – even if it means my having to prop my eyelids open with toothpicks on the drive home. Killer bees at the location? Dust storms? Toxic waste? Poison Oak? Hottentots? Rabid gophers? Michael Bay? Fine, fine. Just tell me when to show up.

Being picky about which jobs one takes is a luxury reserved for when it’s busy. If I’m fielding work calls every day, I can afford to turn down the two-and-a-half hour drive or horrible pay rate or the location that’s hotter than hell/infested with angry rattlesnakes/oozes green goo.

This time, though, I got lucky – the drive wasn’t too bad and I was working with a great bunch of guys who I like a lot, so I had fun and my pre-work coffee guzzle turned out to be unnecessary as we didn’t work that late. I was home by midnight.

Filed under: Work, , , , , ,

9 Responses

  1. Sean says:

    Any chance you can devote a post to some hearsay or anecdotes about working on a Michael Bay “production”? Always heard he’s a complete douche and very demanding but would love to hear details.

    Peggy sez: Already done. Check the archives. It’ll either be posted in late 2004 or early 2005.

  2. Marci says:

    so, was this your first actual *job* post strike?
    I haven’t seen your coverage of that.
    So glad you could just “glide” into working again.

  3. JCW says:

    Yay! I’m so glad you’re back to work!

    Sadly, I’m now out of work…. Even tried for an industrial for Apple, but apparently I don’t have the right “look”.

    What IS the “right” look for an Apple industrial? If I have to look like Apple’s CEO, perhaps I’m better off without the job….

  4. GroovyBrent says:

    What about Hottentots AND Michael Bay?

  5. nezza says:

    I’m glad to hear you’ve finally had some work. It’s probably a good thing it wasn’t a long day. Got to break yourself back into this work malarky gently. :)

  6. Meg says:

    I was on both the Culver and Sony lots today (don’t ask, but it involved someone who shall remain nameless reading their own handwriting wrong) and it seemed like there was some action. Sony seemed busier than Culver, at least it was harder getting in the gate at Sony. I think (not to jinx it!) that maybe just maybe things will start to pick up (soon?)

  7. Charli says:

    Good to hear you are back at work. I hope you continue to get those calls and we can once again here about the adventures of Peg on the set.

    How’s the knees?

  8. rickfle says:

    I hate getting jacked up on coffee when I think I’m gonna be up all night -3PM call=5AM wrap- and I end up going home at 10PM jittery and unable to sleep. Glad you’re working, though, whatever it is.

  9. Always nice when those last minute calls turn out to be for a good experience! Glad you’re back at work.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

