Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

Best news I’ve had all month!

My building is now officially in escrow, so this morning the real estate agent came by to take some pictures of my place (to make sure that I’ve got water-saving fixtures in the bathroom and smoke detectors in all the rooms) and I took the opportunity to pump him for information.

Turns out, the buyer isn’t going to tear the place down – he’s restored several other apartment buildings and houses in the area, and apparently came to court (because the building’s been in conservatorship since the landlady went nuts, so the sale had to be approved by the court) with photos of the other restoration jobs he’s done and an assurance that he intends to return the building to it’s full Jazz Age glory.

Because of Los Angeles’ rent control laws, he can’t throw me out just because he restores the building. Right now I’m very, very happy.

I’m so happy that the knowledge that I hurt myself last night through sheer stupidity doesn’t even bother me.

Somehow, I got on the list for a party held at Prada in Beverly Hills. Since I’ve never actually purchased anything at Prada, how I got the invite is a complete mystery to me, but I’m certainly not going to say no to free drinks, so off I went – wearing heels, which I’m not supposed to do anymore because of my knee. Of course, I was also wearing the obligatory Very Short Skirt which prevented my from being sensible and at least wearing the knee brace with my heels.  Hey, I never said I had any sense.

Sure enough, this morning my knee is swollen and painful. I don’t care. Gallons of free champagne (good stuff, too – not the canned kind), an endless stream of tiny hors d’oeuvres and the assurance that I’m not going to get evicted means today is wonderful even if I am limping around the house with an ice pack taped to my leg.

Filed under: Non-Work, , , , , ,

14 Responses

  1. The Jonster says:

    Conservatorship? I’m sorry. I didn’t know you were renting from Britney.

  2. sal says:

    hoorah! A party and you get to keep your place – cool! Am happy that things have worked out for you

  3. Dave2 says:

    Posh parties in L.A. are like a beautiful dream. :-)

    I was once put up at the W hotel and accidentally ended up crashing a major event taking place there. Nobody noticed I didn’t belong until I went to leave, at which time they asked for my name and affiliation. Not wanting to go there, I decided to pretend like I was about ready to puke and forced my way through. Success!

    Until the next morning when I actually did end up sick because of food poisoning or something. Karma’s a bitch!

  4. Afsheen says:

    Is the company that bought your building called Art Deco Apartments? For your sake, I hope they aren’t, but if they are, feel free to drop me a line — they bought the building next door to our old place in LA and I can tell you some horror stories.

    Peggy sez: I don’t know. According to the real estate agent, it’s one guy and not a company, but it may be. I’ll find out soon enough. Right now I’m just relieved to not be getting the boot.

  5. geekhiker says:

    Some work, a revamped jazz-era building, and an invite to a party with good champagne? Nicely done!

  6. Peter says:

    It would be hard to imagine Prada serving canned champagne. Surely, they’d spring for Veuve Clicot or Mumm’s, maybe even Dom Perignon.

  7. Craig says:

    I told you not to worry. :-)

    The worst that can happen with capital improvements is the landlord can pass through 50% of the costs amortized over some number of years. Which is actually a pretty good deal for the tenant. You get an upgraded apartment, get to keep your rent controlled status, pay half the cost over time, and still pay less than market.

  8. JCW says:

    Peggy + Prada = mystery.

    Didn’t see that one coming.

  9. Karl says:

    Oh you slave to fashion. I’m sure you looked great, but watch those knees! There really hard to replace. Glad to hear there is some good news happening for you.

  10. Caryn says:

    Congrats on the good news and the champagne!

  11. Caryn says:

    Found your party: http://www.style.com/peopleparties/parties/scoop/032108PRAD?mbid=rss_snff

    I’d bet you were on a Film People list the pulled.

  12. RJ says:

    Damn, I could really use some canned champagne this morning.

    Sorry I’ve been away so long. I’ve enjoyed catching up.

  13. nezza says:

    “in escrow” or “we close escrow” is one of those phrases I hear regularly when I’m watching something made in the US on the TV and I have absolutely no idea what it means? It sounds like you don’t have to pack anytime soon though, so that’s good.

    (Unlike me… different sort of packing though! ;) )

    Peggy sez: Here’s a link about real estate escrow, although I’m not sure if it’s going to make anything clearer: http://www.realestateabc.com/homeguide/Escrow.htm

  14. nezza says:

    Ahhh… I think I see. Sort of like making some sort of deposit for security I suppose.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

