Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

Friday Photos

Things you find in old houses

Yesterday’s location was in a 1950’s era house that was being remodeled. While we were rigging the house for the night shot, we found these bottles that had been set outside by the construction crew.

I don’t even think they make this stuff anymore, do they? I seem to remember sneaking a taste at a grownups-type party when I was a kid, and I thought it tasted like carbonated radiator fluid.

Left on the patio to gather dust were not one, but two ‘vintage’ bottles of Cold Duck:

Fermented in the bottle!

Someone made a joke about giving it a home in the gold room (room on the stage where we have all our expendables, a couch and a place to stash personal items while at work), and most of us just looked at the bottle and shuddered.

You know it’s nasty when even construction workers and film crews won’t touch it.

In the “happy to be working but this is going to suck” category, I got to bed this morning around 2 ish (got off work at 12:30, came home, showered, etc.) and in an effort to keep myself on a day schedule, dragged my sorry ass out of bed at 7 am.

That, and I had to take the trash out because I hadn’t wanted to do it at 1 am.

Which would have been fine, I’d have just gone to bed early tonight, but then I got a call to work today with a 2 pm call time, which means I’ll be there until at least 3 am. I’m not about to turn down work with the SAG factor still floating around, so I’m just going to have to suck it up and guzzle coffee to stay awake.

Filed under: camera, Photos, up all night, Work, , , , ,

4 Responses

  1. Norman says:

    Not about this entry but…

    Quick!! There’s a couch on Orange Drive, right north of 2nd Street!! At least there was this morning!!

  2. Jim Fulton says:

    What, you don’t like Cold Duck? Next thing, you’ll be telling us you don’t like Cherry Coke or Cool-Aid. You’ve damaged your standing as a connoisseur, I fear. Just like all the other Mondavi snobs.

    Peggy sez: Ummmm…. How much vodka’s in the Kool-Aid?

  3. snarkolepsy says:

    When I was a kid and under age drinking (really under age)- I got so drunk on Cold Duck, I chunked it. Needless to say – while I got mighty drunk in the following years. Never drunk enough to chunk it. The hangover was merciless.

    I learned my lesson. Thanks to Cold Duck. Makes me shiver to think about it. Even now.

  4. Peter says:

    If you think Cold Duck is bad, try Thunderbird.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

