Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

An unexpected reunion

When I strolled onto the stage, I wasn’t expecting anything other than the normal workday (set it up, break it down, set it up, break it down, lunch, repeat, go home), but I saw someone I haven’t seen in at least 2 years – the Local 80 Goddess.

She’s a good friend, but we don’t see each other that often due to conflicting schedules, so we got to catch up between lighting set-ups, which was nice.

This sort of thing happens a lot in the film industry – we develop occasional friends that we see when we’re on a show with them or when we happen to run into them, not because we don’t like them, but just because there never seems to be time. I’m off, friend’s on a show. Friend is off, I’m on a show. I’m on a show in Utah, friend is on a show in Texas (not so much anymore, of course, but back in the day the LA crews used to travel a good bit more than we do now and it was one more excuse not to be able to return phone calls), and so on. We’re happy when we see each other, but so many friendships (for me, at least) seem to get put on hold and picked up again at the whim of the work schedule.

It’s amazing I manage to keep any friends at all, really.

Speaking of work, it’s starting to slow down a little bit – the few TV shows that were shooting are wrapping up in anticipation of a SAG strike (which is now going to put me out of work even if it doesn’t happen), so I’ll have more spare time to catch up and do the stuff I didn’t get to during the earlier strike-induced four months of unemployment.

At least it’s cooled off some – it even rained a bit today. I’ve got the windows open now and I’m actually a bit chilly, which is very nice. I still have residual brain lag from the weekend heat, and the combination of hot and dry had convinced the neighborhood ant population to invade my kitchen looking for water, shelter, and cheap booze.

I’ve been using the hippy citrus spray, and it’s not working that well, but I’ve always been hesitant to spray anything stronger on a food preparation surface. I won’t have to worry about it for a few more days though, thanks to the rain.

Filed under: Work, , , , , , , ,

7 Responses

  1. Afsheen says:

    Try sprinking cayenne pepper around where the ants come in. Then again, you may not want piles of that on a food preparation surface, either.

  2. scotsirishgirl says:

    CHALK! ants hate chalk. powdered chalk works particularly well.

  3. meg says:

    One more thing to try-wipe your countertops down with white vinegar. It works with some ants, but not others. It worked great for my bathroom counters, and so so in the kitchen. One o’ them Helpful Hints from Heloise, or somebody I read years ago.

  4. Dave2 says:

    Vinegar also works.

  5. jesse says:

    Ants!
    Growing up in Laguna Cyn. I could find at any given time all kinds of critters in my house….some with fur, some with many legs, some without and some wearing a smile and carrying a bottle of wine…..
    Take a look at “Diatect International”, a company that produces “all natural” deterrents.
    Yeah work is slow, “me likey!”
    Be good.

  6. It’s fun to reconnect with old set buddies, isn’t it?

  7. boskolives says:

    The trouble with most of my set re-connections is that we spend the day trying to figure out where we worked together, with no luck. Then several weeks later I wake up in the middle of the night and it all comes back clearly, and then I go back to sleep.

    Sadly, when I wake up it’s gone again and that means that for certain I’ll run into this person again soon and have to relate that I remembered then forgot (again).

    Getting older seems better than the alternative, but sometimes not by much. Wish I could remember why……

    http://boskolives.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

