Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

The sun’s still up and I’m off to bed

Tomorrow morning I have to be at work at 4:30. In the morning.

Not get up at 4:30. Be at the lot, on the truck and relatively coherent at 4:30. This means I need to get out of bed somewhere in the 3ish range.

The really sucky part is that the nearest branch of McCoffee used to open at 4 am but recently changed their hours. Now, they open at 4:30, which doesn’t help me one little bit.

I know the obvious solution would be to make coffee at home, but the only coffeemaker I have is a french press and I seriously doubt I’m going to be co-ordinated enough that early in the morning to be able to figure out that one.

I’m lucky if I’m able to speak that early in the morning. Besides, McCoffee is easy. I just swing by, refuse to call it a “grande”, pay my money and I’m on my way. A work day ritual, if you will.

Hopefully the donut shop where all the cops hang out will have some decent Java.

On the bright side, we’ll be going to lunch at 10:30 am (six hours from call), so the food at the commissary won’t be aged and we’ll get in before the rush.

I’m going to pack my bag before I go to bed (at 7:30pm) – the last time I had a call this early, I forgot my cell phone and my sunglasses.

Filed under: crack of dawn, Work, , , ,

8 Responses

  1. Floyd Thursby says:

    Get a thermos.

    I always make my coffee the night before so I can wake up in the morning and then lie flat abed with hot coffee and wireless Internet on the MacBook on my belly.

    Now _that_ is civilization.

    Unfortunately the rest of the day goes downhill from there — but at least the caffine makes me better prepared.

    — Floyd

  2. Wen says:

    Well, I’m getting up at 3 am too for the 4.30am call (different show though). I have two words for you : French Press.

    God, the crack of doom calls kinda suck.

  3. Chris says:

    I’m so pleased we have a relatively civilized 5:30 call in Sylmar, so I was able to sleep in until 4:00. Whoops, gotta go.

  4. meg says:

    Coffee machine with a timer? It is the only way to get your caffeine fix when you have an early call. Today my husband is working in Pasadena, where they won’t let you start until 7 am. 7 am is like the crack of noon to crew people.

  5. JCW says:

    Not to seem unsympathetic….

    However, having been through the unemployed era with you (As well as being unable to work myself at the moment), I’m just glad you’re WORKING!

    Whether or not SAG comes to a deal, everything’s already been pushed back in anticipation of the possible strike, so the slow period is only going to get worse before it gets better.

    And that, my love, is my little ray of sunshine to share for the day!

    And yes… I AM bitter much.

  6. geekhiker says:

    Next birthday you have got to have someone get you one of those coffee makers you can program to brew a cup at the time you want. Then you just walk into the kitchen, pour yourself a cup, and you’re all set…

  7. Charli says:

    For the first time in over 10 years I don’t have to wake up at any certain time. It’s cool to be me and it sucks to be you, Peg.

  8. I’m a huge believer in the whole packing-the-bag-the-night-before ritual.

    I’m seriously thinking of investing in a coffemaker with a timer, so I can set it before I go to bed at night.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

