Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

Happy holiday weekend, everyone!

Although I’d love to be able to jet off to somewhere exciting and fun over the holiday weekend, economic uncertainty and high gas prices (for us. You Europeans can stop snickering now, thanks) mean that I’ll be staying home this weekend, dodging bullets.

No, really.

In certain areas of Los Angeles, the locals celebrate major holidays (4th of July, New Year’s Eve, birthdays, tax refund checks) by firing guns into the air at random intervals from dusk until they get tired or run out of ammunition, whichever comes first.

The funny thing is that I never even realized it was gunfire until someone told me – I always thought it was fireworks. The only time I ever heard gunfire that I knew without looking was a gun was when one of my neighbors fired off a shotgun – not in the air, though. He thought he saw a prowler which later turned out to be a stray cat. Guess it’s a good thing he’s a bad shot.

That, and machine gun fire on set, which is really loud and scares the crap out of me even though I know it’s not real.

This weekend, I’m going to a pool party (so many friends with pools who will never let me come over and swim – I have to wait for parties), a birthday (not mine so I have to find a cheap or free gift), and I’m going to try to go see the Hunter S. Thompson documentary since I do worship at the temple of Gonzo.

Hope everyone has a great weekend full of greasy food that’s been cooked outdoors!

Filed under: Non-Work, , , , ,

4 Responses

  1. Craig says:

    I have a pool you are welcome to use anytime. No party required. I’ll even give you the combination to my back gate so you can just walk in and dive.

  2. JCW says:

    Happy Independence Day to one of the most independent ladies I know! (In the cyber sense anyhow…)

  3. Charli says:

    I remember uncles and friends of my parents firing a rifle during the holiday, I never liked it or thought much about it until someone told me that if you fire a bullet in the air, it’s gotta come down somewhere or on someone. I swear I will never, ever do that, ever.

    Now, on a different note, something I did do, as a child I put a bottle-rocket firecracker in a coke bottle and then set the fuse on fire. I was so surprise to see the rocket-firecracker take off in a slant and shot straight into the second story window of the neighbors house.

    Uh, we were all shocked and I think I sort of hid behind everybody.

  4. geekhiker says:

    Hope you were able to avoid any incoming fire. I just had drunk people wandering my neighborhood. Apparently having the 4th on a Friday leads people to imbibe just a wee bit more than usual…

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

