Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

A wasted worry is better than a justified one.

Due to repeated fillings, falling outs and re-fillings, a couple of my back teeth are mostly filling material and not so much tooth anymore.

This, it turns out, is a good thing. Even though I chewed a chunk of filling off, no actual tooth surface was exposed, so the dentist was able to repair the entire mess with a minimum of scary drilling.

She also filed down the filling a bit to ‘adjust the bite’ and told me that I’ve bruised the tooth, which I didn’t even know was possible. She then told me to eat only soft foods for the next few days and call her on Thursday if the tooth still hurts.

As I was leaving, I was telling the receptionist how panicked I was about possibly needing major dental work (I’m the biggest fucking baby in the entire world about getting my teeth worked on. I’m surprised the dentist hasn’t slapped me and told me to grow up yet).  She smiled brightly and said, “well, you wasted a good worry!”

I made some crack about it being fortunate that worry wasn’t $4 a gallon, and then ventured out to do my laundry and scare small children with my half-numbed face.

Of course, because I can only eat soft foods, I’m craving peanut brittle.

Fun.

Filed under: Non-Work

6 Responses

  1. Charli says:

    I had one wisdom tooth removed, told them to knock me out, don’t remember a thing. I have two wisdom teeth that never came out and one that is within the gum next to a nerve, they decided not to take that one out. My teeth, whatever.

  2. geekhiker says:

    At least you avoided anything major. I think most people feel like that at the dentist. I had one of my front teeth replaced with a crown and all I really remember is having a death-grip on the chair for an hour…

  3. snarkolepsy says:

    Worrying is always worth it. What else are you gonna do? Nothing? Who does that anymore?

  4. JCW says:

    My teeth are for shit… dental insurance being what it is, I’m sure if I got everything done that’s needed it would cost me 14K out of pocket.

    That said – my Dad once saw a sign in a doctor’s waiting room that he recounted to me and I’ve never forgotten:

    “Worry is the interest you pay on a debt you may never incur.”

    Words to live by.

  5. Proto says:

    tequillia is soft, right?
    My dentist loves my insurance…

  6. Chris says:

    Every time I catch myself griping about our industry, I pull out my card and look at that Delta Dental insignia.

    With a couple of crowns in my head, for which I simply had to cough up a paltry co-pay, I shut up and get back to work.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

