Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

A short, hot day.

It’s time for the annual “fall” heatwave.

Over the past couple of days, the heat has blasted across the city like a cartoon supervillain bent on destroying life as we know it here in Los Angeles. Even the breeze is hot, and stepping out the door of the house feels exactly like it does when one opens an oven door to check on whatever’s baking in there.

So although I normally don’t like to work super long days, I was really hoping that we’d get at least 13 hours yesterday- with a 7 am call, that would have put us out at 9 pm (the one hour break for lunch doesn’t count) – hopefully after it had cooled off slightly, but instead we got the fastest director west of the Mississippi who shot six and a half pages in nine and a half hours (that’s really, really fast. Six and a half pages normally takes much closer to 12 hours).

Fucker.

Don’t get me wrong, I normally really like this director, but I swore under my breath when they called wrap and the heat poured in through the newly opened stage doors.

I went to the gym after work and swam, but when I got home well after dark it was still hot.

According to the news, the heat should break by the end of the week.

I really hope they’re right.

Filed under: Work, , , , , ,

3 Responses

  1. Catherine says:

    Oooooo, I am so tired of it!!! I felt sucker punched yesterday and today, and I hope they’re right, too. NO MAS!

  2. JCW says:

    Isn’t the heat a bitch? We’ve had our share up here in the Bay Area, and it’s been awfully embarassing in the last week as twice I have portrayed nasty ex-husbands, and on each occassion I’ve been sweating – visibly – like a pig.

    Of course, it worked in my favor when I was portraying the alcoholic, drug abusing, abusive ex, but it didn’t go over as well when I was supposed to be the athletic, NRA card carrying, climb up and down that hill in a layered fall outfit carrying a 12 pound rifle ex.

    I had to ask for cuts to wipe the sweat out of my eyes… to say it was embarassing would be an understatement.

    It’s awful when you’re not playing a Whitney Huston style crackhead, but look the part. The parents of the child actors on set seemed rather alarmed by me.

  3. -k- says:

    I’ve lived in this town longer than I’ve lived anywhere and every year I tell myself it’s gonna cool down after Labor Day.

    Never happens. Ever.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

