Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

Why do they ask me to repeat myself when I tell them it hurts to talk?

At work Friday night, I started to feel not so great – tickle in the throat, stuffy nose, etc.

I chalked it up to either standing all day in a stage that was air conditioned to ‘arctic tundra’ or the seasonal temperature changes around here (100 degrees one day, 65 the next. Ah, fall in Southern California).

Nope. Turns out, I was actually sick. Over the weekend.

If that’s not illegal, it should be. The winds blew all the atmospheric crap out of the sky and as the city sparkled in the clear air, I lay on the couch wheezing and failing to muster up the energy to wash my hair or find the remote so I wouldn’t have to watch golf.

That, and the corner store was sold out of the nice super-soft tissues that are coated with some sort of (probably) unholy goo but don’t rub your skin raw, so I had to get the not-so-nice tissues that felt like they were coated with bits of sawdust. Or broken glass. After a few hours, the skin around my nose was a thing of the past.

I must have been the very picture of loveliness itself. No wonder even the cat wouldn’t come near me.

I took some comfort in knowing that a large portion of Los Angeles was also sick over the weekend, and starting Sunday afternoon, an even larger portion of Los Angeles was coated in ash from the numerous fires burning.

Misery loves company, after all.

Today I ventured out mainly in search of groceries, but I also went to the gym and sat in the sauna for an hour or so in an attempt to ‘sweat it out’.¬† I’m not sure if it was a successful attempt, because¬† although I feel much better now, I sound terrible. Think about that stage right before the laryngitis really kicks in.

Everyone who’s talked to me on the phone this afternoon has been alarmed and of course have not believed my assertions about feeling pretty good.

Everyone who’s seen me in person today has actually winced and have also not believed my statements about feeling fine.

But it’s true. I still can’t breathe out of my nose, I sound like death itself and I’m coughing up bucketloads of something that should be featured prominently in a horror movie, but I feel good.

Or maybe I just felt so terrible over the weekend that I only feel comparatively good and I just can’t tell the difference.

Nope. I feel fine. Objectively fine.

Which is good, since I have to work tomorrow.

Filed under: Non-Work, , , , , , ,

6 Responses

  1. getsheila says:

    Isn’t it weird how we look and sound the worst when we are actually feeling better? I am often tempted to stay home extra days and milk it. But then the guilt kicks in. ::sigh::

    Feel better soon! Oh wait, you already are. Never mind. :)

  2. Burbanked says:

    One of my favorite classic exchanges from the series M*A*S*H:

    (someone, to Hawkeye when he’s sick):
    Wow, you look terrible.

    HAWKEYE:
    That’s good. I’d hate to feel this awful and have it be my little secret.

  3. Anonymous says:

    The same thing started with me on friday! I ended up completely losing my voice on Monday, and today was no better. Not that getting sleep didn’t help, but the fact that I’m besting a series did quite the opposite! I ended up walking around with a notebook and a sheet of paper reading “things to ask TOMORROW” and promptly handed it to many people asking unnecessary questions. (or just fucking with me). I won’t tell you how long the list is…feel better soon!

  4. Charli says:

    I hate being sick, bleh. All I can eat when I feel back is banana pudding and taco bell burritos, oh yeah.

  5. Catherine says:

    I’m glad you’re getting better. Yeah, no illness on weekends – I’m all for that bit of legislation!

  6. explosivelaughter says:

    half my crew was sick over a 15 day shoot. i made it until about day 7, aka “the exterior day on the beach in the rain, with the bonus of child actors” until i finally was joining in on the snot party, the morning of day 8. my producer constantly told me on the phone that “i sounded like a different person every time he called”.

    i feel you pain, and i hope you feel better!

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 583 other followers

