Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

Election fatigue

For the three of you who’ve been living in a cave for the past few months, tomorrow we have an election. Not just any election, but the most annoying, highest media hysteria and pundit-rich election that I can remember.

Every time I turn on the television or the radio, a barrage of scare-tactic ads burst forth informing me that if I don’t vote a certain way, life as we know it will end on Wednesday. The blue guy, the red guy, vote for love, vote for change, vote for families, vote for a train (or something), and what will become of the children?

The name-calling, the inflammatory rhetoric, the outright lies, the vaguely icky celebrity endorsements, the hostility, the polarization of the country, the reams and reams of glossy junk mail, flyers being pushed aggressively at passers-by, plus all sorts of lawn signs that have sprouted like mushrooms all over the city. I shudder to think of the strain on our already bursting landfills.

The real irony here (for me, at least) is that I’ve already voted so I’ve signed off on the whole process.

Last week, I ventured down to the bowels of Norwalk and voted early at the county registrar – I got lucky and went on a day when there were no lines, so I was in and out in under an hour.

If I hadn’t, I would have had an early call tomorrow and worked until after the polls closed (plus, they’re expecting record turnout so no in and out quickly this time). Of course, because I took the time to vote early, I’ll be off tomorrow.

Whichever, I won’t have to stand in the line now, but I’m getting tired of the rhetoric and outright bile that’s currently spewing from people who really should know better than to behave like this. If I hear one more person dust off that hoary “commie” speech or refer to anyone else as a ‘brownshirt’, I’m going to scream.

When did we become a nation of 6 year-olds? Can’t we all just be adults about this?

I know for a fact that it’s possible to respectfully disagree with someone and not resort to childish name calling – if I get in political arguments at work, the chances are that I won’t get called back again, so I just have to smile and say something along the lines of “Well, we’ll just have to agree to disagree on that one. Where’s crafty and how’s the coffee on this show?”.

I’m extremely opinionated and if I can learn to respectfully disagree and change the subject in order to find common ground, then so can everyone else.

Don’t make me pull this election off the road and come back there to teach you some manners.

Thankfully, in just about 24 hours it will all be over.

Filed under: Non-Work, , , , , , , , , , ,

8 Responses

  1. geekhiker says:

    I’ll vote after work tomorrow, then I plan to come home and watch DVD’s. At this point, I just don’t think I can stand tuning into the evening election coverage.

    Actually, I take that back. I might tune in for the Jon Stewart/Stephen Colbert hour. But that’s it, I swear.

    Peggy sez: I’m going to a party at 8, but I’m not going to turn the TV on before then.

  2. getsheila says:

    A brownshirt? You mean, they work for UPS? Guess I’ll have to look that one up.

    I, too, voted weeks ago. I asked my 80 year old mother why she doesn’t register as a permanent absentee voter so she can vote from her arm chair and not have to leave the house on voting day. She says it feels more real when she has to get dressed and go down there.

    Old people are funny.

  3. k4kafka says:

    Thank you for not using your comments as just another last minute endorsement plea…for either side.

    Peggy sez: Oh, I think we’ve got enough of that everywhere else on the internet.

  4. JCW says:

    Agreed. Although they seem bad everytime they come around, this election cycle had the added thrill of catching a commercial telling me that my marriage was a danger to children and society as a whole about every 15 minutes for the last month.

    Depressing, but I can honestly say that I know EXACTLY how Black folks must have felt during the civil rights struggle when they turned on their TVs and heard people debating whether or not they were full fledged human beings.

    Peggy sez: Well, if they’re going to treat you like you’re the spawn of Satan, you should at least play along – wear a bright red sharkskin suit and mousse your hair into horns. Then, be really, really nice to everyone. It won’t accomplish anyone, but it’ll freak people out.

  5. Chris says:

    According to the crossing guard lady with whom I chatted before going in to vote this morning, employers in California are required to give you 2 hours off, with pay, in order to vote.

    Try getting this past the AMPTP.

  6. snarkolepsy says:

    You have to admit the important thing about this election is the bullet train to nowhere.

    That we will never get.

    But, hell – can’t we close down some schools or something, so I can get to LA in 2 hours? That would be bad-ass.

    Oooh – is that smoke I see?

    Peggy sez: I don’t know anyone who voted for that albatross. Yeah, a bullet train for a broke state. Sure – that’s a great idea.

  7. Jim Fulton says:

    Am I missing something? Why go to Norwalk when the kindly county clerk would have mailed you an absentee ballot — returnable by mail?
    Also, state law indeed requires employers to grant you two hours with pay to do your civic duty at the polls.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

