Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

How to gain back all the weight you lost when you had food poisoning

Chess Pie

  • 1 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 stick butter, melted
  • 3 large eggs, beaten
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla
  • 1 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • Combine all ingredients in bowl and whisk until smooth
  • Pour into lined pie shell and bake at 350 degrees until golden brown and center is set when touched with finger, 55 – 60 minutes.
  • Cool before serving

This is sickeningly sweet and unbelievably delicious. I only eat it when I’m back home and my favorite aunt makes it (which she does better than anyone else on the planet).

Between this, the turkey, the dressing (my sister snarled at me when I called it ‘stuffing’. Apparently, stuffing is declasse these days), the eggnog, the three gallons of gravy and all the other crap I ate while I was gone I’ve gained back that 5 pounds.

Oh, well.

Since I still don’t have a car and am having to bike everywhere I should lose it quickly, although since I have a sneaky suspicion that they’re not going to be able to fix my car and I’m going to have to buy another one (a thought that makes me very unhappy) I really feel like consoling myself with chess pie and rum-laced eggnog.

I hope everyone had a wonderful holiday.

Filed under: Non-Work, , , , ,

6 Responses

  1. ironrailsironweights says:

    When I saw the recipe it looked like something was missing. I looked it up, and it turns out that the recipe is indeed complete. It just doesn’t sound complete.

    Peter

    Peggy sez: I know what you mean – it’s kind of a head scratcher when you look at it written out, but it’s delish. And fattening.

  2. geekhiker says:

    You know… if you’d ever like to bake one of those up… and, you know… invite me over… I’d be okay with that… just ‘sayin… ;)

    Happy New Year Peggy!

  3. nezza says:

    It’s still stuffing over here in the UK!

    Happy New Year. :o)

  4. JCW says:

    Welcome back you!

    Wishing you the very happiest of new years, and here’s to hoping that we all get offered more work than we can handle in 2009.

    Thanks for making the past year a more enjoyable one.

  5. erin says:

    Chess pie is one of my favs…I make one with a little less guilt from a Shape Magazine about 10 years ago when they still put recipes in the magazine.
    I too was loudly corrected by my Savannah Ga friend that IT IS DRESSING NOT STUFFING!

  6. sybaritica says:

    Never heard of this before …. how did the name come about?

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

