Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

Sometimes you guys make me all misty-eyed and gooey.

I can’t even begin to convey how touched I am by the offers of financial help that came in through the comments and via email, but honestly, I’d feel really, really uncomfortable accepting donations.

I know, I know… all pride will get me is a bunk the poorhouse, but I just can’t.

Honestly? I’m not all that bad off. I’m having some cash flow problems right now, but I’m not in any danger of becoming homeless or starving to death.

I don’t have a mortgage or kids, my rent’s relatively low, cats are inexpensive to feed once they get used to the cheaper  food (right now, I’m getting glared at a lot, but she’ll come around. Actually, I get glared at a lot normally so nothing much has changed now that I think about it), and the power company has granted me enough of an extension that I’ll be able to scrape up the money.

There are people who are a lot worse off than I am – and every cent I take is funds that they need far, far more than little old me  so if you really find yourself in a charitable mood towards film industry workers, I’d suggest donating to the Motion Picture and Television Fund instead – you can earmark your money for emergency assistance to needy people. About this time last year, the Fund gave me rent and grocery money and asked nothing in return, for which I will be eternally grateful.

For now, I’ll be okay, but I promise that if things take a turn for the worse and I end up dancing on the street corner for spare change, I’ll post directions to the intersection.

Filed under: Non-Work, , , ,

5 Responses

  1. Meg says:

    I second the vote to donate to the MPT fund, They really do take care of their own.

  2. geekhiker says:

    Heh – If you are dancing on a street corner, not only will I make a donation into your hat, I’ll bring along some drinks and sit a spell. Will the alcohol enhance the dancing skills or work against them? ;)

  3. Charli says:

    Well, if you do get yourself into trouble and you don’t tell us, you’re gonna be in a LOT of trouble, ya hear? We’ll come after you, and you don’t want the village coming after you. So let the village know if you’re in the outhouse, we’ll come a running.

  4. JCW says:

    Well if you do end up dancing on a street corner, make sure it’s a corner with a street sign on a tall pole and wear something skimpy… it’s bound to pay better.

    Chin up Lovely One – Despite the SAG fiasco, with the new CA tax incentives recently passed, and so many new shows making deals with AFTRA, I imagine we’ll be seeing an improvement sooner rather than later.

    We’ve got two – count ’em TWO pilots filming in the S.F. area in the next two months – and they’re pretty big budget numbers – TRAUMA (S.F.) and PARENTHOOD (Berkeley).

    When production companies are willing to film pilots in this prohibitively expensive and logistically impossible area, you know something’s afoot. And if they sell, you also know they’ll come up here once a year to film exteriors and be down in your neck of the woods the rest of the season for interiors.

  5. jesse says:

    Your cats are glaring at you too?
    I have 4 and I’m trying to decide which one to eat first.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

