Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

And now for today’s installment of ‘The Best Laid Plans…’

On paper, the whole plan was perfect. The show on which I’ve been day-playing (and which has pretty much been my sole source of income as of late) went down last week, so I figured I’d get bunion surgery while we were off (don’t even start in with me about not doing it. My foot hurts constantly). Since I’m looking at 10 weeks (or so) of recovery time, I thought I’d get it right after the show went down, ride out the slow season and then be ready to go back to work again when things (hopefully) pick up in late July, right when it’s getting insanely hot.

The surgeon only does this particular type of surgery two Wednesdays a month  – first and third.  Of course, I tried to get in on the first Wednesday in May which would mean only being aimlessly unemployed for about two weeks. Great idea, huh? Time to clean the house, get all the laundry done, stock up on reading material, etc…

Except I’m apparently not the only one who hatched said plan and the surgeon’s schedule is full on the 6th (presumably with other crew people getting foot surgery – the new black), so  now I have to wait until the 20th.

This isn’t really that big of a deal (and gives me more time to get my shit together), but since there’s an issue with going from unemployment to disability it means that I must either not file unemployment for May or call around frantically trying to dig up a few days’ work right before I have surgery so I get a paycheck before starting the disability claim.

Since work is currently on the slow side, this worries me but since I don’t have the funds to choose option A, I’m going to be doing some begging in the middle of May.

Right now, though, it’s tough to worry about much of anything.  The weather in Los Angeles is beautiful – the sky is blue and the sun’s shining and it’s not too hot, so I’ve been spending a lot of time riding my bike and enjoying the spring while it lasts.

Filed under: mishaps, Non-Work

9 Responses

  1. opus says:

    I want to ask what is probably a stupid question you might know the answer to.

    I was watching a blooper reel for a tv show and the character trys to burst through some double doors, which don’t open. The doors themsleves are solid on the bottom and large window panes on top.

    When the actor hits the doors both glass panes pivot in the center so they are open, but the doors remain closed. From all appearances it seems to me the the glass, for the purposes of the show are supose to be regular, solid, unmoving windows.

    If you can decipher what I just described then are they built to open that way so cables or such can be run through without having to open or take out the doors?

    Good luck on your surgery

  2. Charli says:

    If it’s not the foot it’s the knees, if it’s not the knees, it’s something else, you are a mess!! I’m not one to talk either, should have had knee surgery a long time ago, unless I’m in pain, I’m not getting cut open.

    Please show pictures of your bunion before and after surgery. Yes, to gross us out.

  3. JCW says:

    I’ll second the “Please show before and after bunion” surgery request – but then, I’m a Discovery Channel fan.

    I feel your pain… I’m trying to time needed surgery between gigs and it’s harder than hell! I can’t afford to turn down work, but I need to get this done.

    Glad to know that in the meantime you’re taking pleasure in the small things in life: Blue skies, a shining sun, temperate weather et al.

  4. geekhiker says:

    Ugh, that’s the worst kind of Catch-22. I’ll keep the fingers crossed that a little work shows up between now and the surgery. Bravo to you, though, for not moping and getting out on the bike instead!

  5. Wen says:

    I just went from being on unemployment to going on disability for my hand and it wasn’t a problem for me. I didn’t return my UI form that started the week I went on SDI. The only problem is that there is always a 7 day mandatory wait time where you receive no pay. (I’ve never understood that, btw.) You can email me if you have any other questions. And good luck with your foot.

  6. lighttech says:

    same here gone from unemployment to SDI 2times and never a prob just make sure to stay up on paperwork as alot of doc’s and their office staff are slackers on this –if you use kaiser thye have a whole office dedicated to this deal –GL

  7. jesse says:

    Hey, you could auction off your bunion! I have a mayonnaise jar in the kitchen somewhere………….
    You could call the event “A Piece of Peg”.

  8. Charli says:

    Jesse – you just put this whole thread on a whole new level of ‘gross’ – I’m not bidding, but I’ll definitely look at the bunion picture and then pass it off to all of my friends.

  9. unionguy says:

    Sounds to me like you need a new podiatrist.
    If you do, let me know, Ive reffered many an industry person to him, a few war vets too.
    He was reffered to me by a grip that plays volleyball with him, sports guy..I’m sure he does the surgery more that twice a month.
    And- he takes the insurance.
    If you want his name,let me know.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

