Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

Walk it off, Cupcake.

I’m normally one of those people who has minor surgery and then goes straight from the hospital to the gym to work off the anaesthesia.

However, for the past two weeks, I’ve been taking the advice of friends, family, and complete strangers on the internet and taking it easy on the foot – not pushing it too much and being sensible. Turns out, that was the wrong thing to do.

Sadly, since my friends, family and said strangers have only had my best interests at heart, a sense of self-righteous vindication would be totally inappropriate.

I’ve developed adhesions in the foot (which, to be fair, are probably more because of the infection than inactivity) and now can’t move the toe at all. The doctor seems to think this is temporary and a little physical therapy plus increased use will sort the whole thing out without the need to resort to surgery.

So no more using the crutches in the house (I still need to use them whenever I venture out among the hoi polloi, though – they seem to be aiming for me. I wonder if it’s extra points to knock me over or something), and I’m to try to walk without the boot (again, only in the house).

I’ve got my first PT appointment Friday, and until then I have to move the toe as much as I can, which, not surprisingly, feels like crap and is making me very, very cranky.

The good news is that the doctor thinks I’m going to be up and about sooner than scheduled, which is good since there does seem to be a bit of work around.

And it does feel awfully good to jettison those crutches, even if it is just inside the house.

Filed under: Non-Work

6 Responses

  1. Charli says:

    Can you walk on your heal or is that too painful?

  2. Charli says:

    Heel, I meant Heel, not be healed like some t.v. Evangelist.

  3. JCW says:

    Odd…

    I spent nearly two years on crutches between a hip infection and a hip replacement, and my recollection is I was never treated better.

    People held doors for me, helped me with groceries and at the laundromat….

    This was many years ago – shame to hear that the same consideration no longer exists.

    I sure hope you can work this out with no further surgery and get back to work!

  4. jesse says:

    Push it baby and make yourself cry, go beyond everything you have ever tasted and then some in order to get yourself back to working speed. There is a reason that P.T. stands for Physical Terrorist.
    If you sit back, well..your feeling it already. Really push or you will feel a limitation. Once you get the head around it the body does follow but it is not easy.
    Push it.
    Take care,
    JM

  5. Chris says:

    I feel your pain. After a disagreement with a tablesaw years ago, I developed adhesions where the thumb tendon was reattached.

    Be diligent with your PT and do all the homework they give you, and you’ll be dancing in no time.

  6. Mark says:

    Two words for you: swimming pool. Once the skin is healed, get yourself one of those foam water workout belts and go walking or jogging in the deep end of the pool. (vertical posture, feet off the bottom, arms and legs moving against water resistance.) It will do wonders for your range of motion and general well-being. And speed your recovery.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

