Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

Today, I’m the happiest girl in the world.

Today was the big day – the day I got back in the swimming pool – the day I’ve been looking forward to for weeks.

The physical therapist, who has taken to lecturing me about the evils of overdoing it (to be fair, I usually get the lectures after I come limping in admitting that I’ve done something silly like trying to cram my foot into my bike shoe or doing squats at the gym), made me promise to limit my first swim to 15 minutes.

Which turned out to be not that hard – swimming hurts, but at least it’s a different hurt than walking.  Walking hurts the joint where the toe’s trying to flex, but also really hurts on the bottom of the foot – it sort of feels like the foot is folded under on the sides and I’m putting all the weight on the outside of the underside of the foot. Plus the ankle really starts to ache.  Swimming made the toe flop around which hurt like hell, but just in the joint,  not the bottom of the foot. The ankle didn’t hurt, either. I’m going to call it a win.

I don’t usually bother with a kickboard (the gym pool doesn’t provide them and it’s just one more thing to carry), but for today I dusted it off and kicked a few laps before giving up and going to sit in the steam room (something else I haven’t been allowed to do until today).

I missed swimming. Even though the toe hurt, it was good to be back in the pool.

Here’s a link instead of a photo (for those of you who would like to not look at the gross foot photo):

Foot exactly four weeks post surgery

Filed under: Non-Work

4 Responses

  1. David H. says:

    Woohoo! Congratulations on being aquatic-able again!

  2. Charli says:

    Cool to be back in the pool! You know, you live in California, you’ll get a tan on that foot in no time and no one will ever notice a scar.

  3. geekhiker says:

    Congratulations Little Fishie! :)

    The real question is: when can you hit the beach?

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

