Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

Worst. Week. Ever.

All through the surgery/rehab process, people have been warning me about hitting ‘the wall’.

Last week was my wall.

The physical therapy didn’t seem to be doing any good, the foot wasn’t improving,  still hurt all the time and by the time I had done the exercises and gone about my day I could hardly stand up. Instead of coming home and sitting on the computer typing something or other, I sat in the comfy chair in the living room and cried. Every night.

The constant pain was also making me behave in a truly deplorable manner.  Think temper tantrums for small things like the grocery store being out of something I wanted or someone not sneaking the LA left turn* quickly enough.

Did I write earlier that I didn’t understand how people get hooked on pain pills? Scratch that. I completely understand now.  Adding to the general misery was the physical therapist deciding to do ‘desensitization’ on the scar, which involved rubbing stuff against the very tender part of the foot and felt just fucking great.

Luckily, I seem to have moved past said wall – although the toe’s stiffened up a bit, the rest of the foot’s not aching so badly anymore.

Everything is much better now, although I’m still not doing very much with my life other than working out and sleeping.

*Los Angeles, in a stroke of genius on the part of some smartass, for years didn’t have left turn signals at intersections. Anywhere.  In order to make a left turn, one would have to coast out into the middle of the intersection while one had the light and then make the turn in that brief interval between when the light turns red and the traffic travelling in the other direction starts moving.  I’ve never seen drivers in any other city do this – probably because other cities had the foresight to install left turn arrows at intersections.

Filed under: Non-Work

10 Responses

  1. Re: the LA left turn—this is actually a legal turn in at least Ohio and Indiana, maybe others. But only for one person. Basically, if you’re at a non-turn-signaled light (of which there are many, but with much lighter traffic than LA), you are allowed to scoot your way out into the intersection and turn left as the light turns red.

    It works much better in those states and doesn’t impede traffic because 1) People generally follow the rules and keep it to one car per red light and 2) People generally aren’t assholes who run the red light in the opposite direction, making it hard for the left-turner to turn on time.

    Sorry to hear about your wall but glad to hear you’re mostly past it. Hope you can go back to work soon.

  2. boskolives says:

    My understanding of how people develop an addiction to pain killers came about in a similar way, except it was something called Dilaudid (more or less the spelling) that I got when I passed a kidney stone. Like the light switch on the wall, one short click from PAIN ON to PAIN OFF, and the worst pain I’ve ever experienced became a dim memory. After passing a stone the size of a pencil point, I found it a mystery how a woman could ever be talked into having a second kid.
    Better days ahead,
    Jerry
    http://www.boskolives.wordpress.com

  3. Galen says:

    That sounds extremely painful, but getting over that wall is a good step. Watch out for those pain killers it can get messy!
    Just had to let you know that Vancouver, Canada has the same turning system, in fact when you learn to drive getting into the middle of the intersection and turning on a yellow was an integral part. I was down in LA a couple of months ago and felt right at home driving there, although we don’t really have freeways like you.
    Keep up that spirit!

  4. Peter says:

    New Jersey is full of those ridiculous jughandle left turns. The LA version may be a bit more dangerous, but also sounds more fun.

  5. Daisy says:

    Damn, you are not making this surgery sound like the fun it’s supposed to be. I have been thinking about getting this done and am now really leary. But you sound okay, here’s hoping you’ll come out just fine on the other side.

  6. meg says:

    <<<<<>>>> They keep telling me “that which does not kill us, makes us stronger” but some days you just want to curl up in a ball and have somebody stroke your hair and say soothing things. Consider it done (virtually!)

  7. geekhiker says:

    Well, I’m glad that you seem to have surmounted the wall without turning into Rush, at the very least.

    And AMEN to the silly, stupid no-left-hand-turn-light! I read somewhere where an LA traffic engineer claimed that the lack of left hand turn lights made traffic move faster. Apparently he’s never seen a left hand turn lane back up into the main traffic lane before. Or the delays caused by accidents between red-light-runners and left-hand-turners.

    Where does LA government FIND these people?

  8. JCW says:

    Baby Girl,

    You can’t say I didn’t forward a job opportunity that suited your current physical condition and financial needs.

    I’m sorry you’ve been in so much discomfort, but having lived through losing a hip joint due to infection I promise you – I PROMISE YOU – that this, too, shall pass.

    It gets better with time, and you will do just fine.

    You’re a trooper.

  9. k4kafka says:

    Glad to hear you’re back “on your feet”, so to speak,
    and stepping (ever so lightly) back into the shadows of
    whatever’s left of the tarnished glamor of Hollywood.
    Break a leg, kid !
    No, STRIKE that…I mean…oh, whatever…

  10. Charli says:

    I do hope you feel better. Those stitches I got on my finger, doc prescribed Codeine, I flushed them down the toilet. They completely numb the Hell out of you.

    I have to take Xanax to sleep, but not for pain, but when the body doesn’t have the pill, you do feel this ‘sugar craving’ which I know get when they mean addiction to pills.

    Once I sleep again, pills be gone, but until then, I haven’t gotten the ‘right’ sleeping pill that works. So the worst thing about any pills, is when they put you on one, then another, then another and nothing happens.

    So I hope your pills DO work and don’t worry about addiction. Once the body heals, your athleticism will be able to challenge the cravings.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

