Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

So it’s 500 degrees and I’m wearing a wig.

Since my actual prom (oh, so long ago) sucked ass (mainly because I was too cool/bound up in my teenage angst/busy caving in to resisting peer pressure to enjoy it), I thought Caroline on Crack’s idea for a Blogger Prom was a stroke of genius. Why not a prom redux when everyone’s actually going to have fun?

Since the ‘prom’ is 80’s themed and I’ve got a haircut for the new millennium, I’ve decided to wear a wig. Not just any wig, but a horrifying frosted mullet rocker wig:

scuse me while i fluff my hair

Yikes! It’s even more horrible on my head. Plus, it’s hot as hell, which I kind of knew already after years of listening to actors bitch about it, but I wasn’t prepared for just how hot, though. It’s like wearing a watch cap. Damn.

It does fit in with the night’s theme though, and an added plus is that I won’t have to worry about photos. I normally don’t let anyone take my picture, but an entire party full of photo-whore (and I mean that in the best possible way) bloggers and free booze is a disaster waiting to happen, but with said wig, three pounds of makeup and cheap plastic Wayfarer knockoffs I should be fine.

I’ll probably spend at least half the night sitting down because my foot still hurts if I stand on it too long, but they’ve got WiFi (of course) at the party so I won’t look too pathetic.

I’m also bringing my swimsuit and ‘accidentally’ falling in the pool at the end of the night, which should ring the death knell for the wig. And the party, maybe.

For the record, my actual hair in the late 80’s was just about this bad.  I had the fountain of Aqua-Net reinforced perm that erupted from my right ear and swept over the side of my head and down the opposite shoulder.  I still cringe when I see the photos.

Filed under: Uncategorized

One Response

  1. geekhiker says:

    Wow, how did you score an invite to this? Clearly I am hanging out with the wrong blogging crowd!

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

