Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

Next Tuesday – the official end.

Of my being out of work, that is.  September 1.

That’s the day after my disability officially runs out, and the today the doctor opined that I’ll be okay to return to work at that time.

The foot’s not 100% healed yet (when I asked the doctor when I could expect this thing to be completely healed up, he just kind of mumbled and then changed the subject. The physical therapist would only say that it won’t clear up quickly), which means, of course, that the first work call I’ll get will be something like a 14 hour rig day walking on cement floors and carrying cable up and down stairs.

According to both the doctor and the physical therapist, the foot will heal a lot quicker if I turn jobs like that down for a few months.  I tried to explain that my bank account won’t allow me to turn any work down right now, only to be informed that this isn’t something about which I can successfully argue.

So, sadly, I’ll only be sort of back to work, but it’s a start.

Filed under: Uncategorized

3 Responses

  1. Dave2 says:

    So… there’s no extension to disability so that your foot can heal properly? Seems insane to put you in a position where you’ll be forced to return to work and end up hurting yourself again!

    Peggy sez: I’ve already been granted one disability extension – it was supposed to end July 31. The doctor can’t or won’t sign off on another, and quite frankly I can’t afford to stay on disability any longer. It covers rent and not all of the bills, so I’ve got to get back to work if I want to keep the utilities on and the phone ringing.

  2. geekhiker says:

    Oh, man, that’s such BS. Gotta love a system that thinks it knows better than your body when you should be healed. *grumble*

  3. dougR says:

    Please be careful!! much as I’ve missed your postings from the set, I’d prefer the foot was 100% before you start toting dat barge etc. good luck!

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

