Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

Easing back in

The last time I needed to drum up some work right away, I  freaked out and made 12 work calls in a three hour period.

Although this did result in a job, it worked too well and I ended up with four job calls for the next day, three of which I had to turn down.

Best boy #3: “Didn’t you just call me telling me you really needed work tomorrow?”

Me: “Yes, but then someone else that I called called back right before you did. Got anything next week?”

Best boy #3: “Hmmpf.”

This time, despite being fairly desperate to get back to work, I exercised some restraint and made two calls on Monday, two calls on Tuesday, and two calls today (and I’m planning on making two tomorrow and two Friday). This ‘trickle method’  has resulted in one job for tomorrow and no pissed off best boys. So far.

I’ll be on a stage tomorrow with nice even flooring (and the important mini-fridge freezer compartment in the gold room for my lunchtime ice pack), so hopefully I won’t be in anything more than my usual pain at the end of the day.

Filed under: Work

2 Responses

  1. Annika says:

    Fingers crossed for a nice easy reentry. (Or should I cross my toes?)

  2. Dave2 says:

    Good luck on your first day back!

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

