Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

Almost a full week

Tuesday we had a relatively short day – 12.5 hours. The chickens behaved very nicely (except for one escapee who perched on the hanging lights and refused to come down. I didn’t realize chickens could fly as well as these seemed to be able to) even though they did crap all over everything in sight, and I got home around 11 pm. We’d all been expecting another 14 hour extravaganza, so it was a pleasant surprise.

Wednesday, I was scheduled for a biopsy (they found a lump on a mammogram) in the morning and knew I wouldn’t be able to swim for a few days afterwards, so by some feat of determination I managed to drag myself out of bed at 5:30 am and went to swim for 1/2 an hour beforehand. I would have gone longer, but I was worried about getting stuck in traffic and being late, since the procedure was at the Motion Picture Hospital, which is conveniently located in west bumfuck.

The doctor was very nice (even if he didn’t get the ‘my tit’s going to rot off’ reference from Fight Club), and borderline apologetic as he told me I’d have to avoid strenuous activity for 72 hours afterwards.

Me: “Define strenuous.”

Dr: “Whatever you’re thinking about doing.”

Stupid doctor.  I wasn’t going to do anything crazy like weights. I was just going to do some light cardio and perhaps sit in the steam room.  But after a lecture from both the doctor and my sister, I stayed home on Wednesday and watched daytime TV (like I haven’t done enough of that recently to last me for the rest of my life).

By the way – breast biopsies are done with the biggest fucking needle I’ve ever seen. Seriously. That thing was about a foot long. Luckily they numbed up my entire side before they did anything – I felt nothing, but there was an awful lot of blood. Normally, this doesn’t bother me, but when it’s my blood, I don’t feel so good about it.

But this morning, I got a call to go into work and cover someone who called in sick.

Of course, I said yes and decided that I’d worry about any potential consequences (hematoma, body parts rotting off, random explosions, gas, etc..) later.  I don’t care what the doctor told me, I can’t afford to turn down any work.

Luckily, I only had to climb one ladder and was able to favor the one side as the day was mostly moving around Kinos on C-Stands, which hardly qualifies as strenuous.

Our call time tomorrow morning is after 9 am – which is the official closure of the 72 hour window, so I don’t have to worry about it any longer.

I’ll have results by the end of the day tomorrow, but no one expects anything to be seriously amiss. Apparently, 90% of the time these things are nothing.

And the person who called in sick is still sick, so I got tomorrow, too – which makes a four day week. Yay!

Filed under: Work

5 Responses

  1. Mark G. says:

    Jesus! You’re *hardcore*, woman. I was in bits yesterday after a mere 10 hour day. (In my defense, the previous was 15) and I haven’t had any medical concerns in a couple of years now… touch wood.

    I’m sure the biopsy will be fine. Kudos on being proactive. I know too many people who say ‘I’ll worry about it tomorrow’.

  2. Marci says:

    Good for you! So glad you’re working. Sending lots of love and healing to your needle wound!

  3. geekhiker says:

    Heh – you’re like the Black Night from Monty Python. “It’s just a flesh wound! I can still hang that light!”.

    Even at 90%, will keep the fingers crossed anyway. Can’t hurt.

  4. unionguy says:

    I think I live in west bumfuck..
    It’s okay, except for all the west bumfuck mothers (bumfuck mother -fuckers) who wear UGGS on a 99 degree day.
    UGGS and belly shirts..

  5. snarkolepsy says:

    Sends a chill down every womans spine. But, statistics are with you. Most of the time it’s nothing. Good thoughts for you.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

