Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

Typical timing.

Today, Southern California’s first big winter rainstorm rolls in. Heavy rain is predicted for this afternoon and tonight, lasting until tomorrow night.

Of course, I’m going to be working outside.  The past couple of years have had lighter-than-average rainfall, so it’s been a while since I’ve had to stand in a downpour all night.

At least I’ve got good rain gear, as do all of us. Memo to outdoor clothing companies: If you really want to test out how waterproof your clothing really is, give it to film crews.  We’ll wear it for 14 hours at a stretch and will give you honest feedback about how much your stuff does or does not suck.

I just wish my rain jacket had a ‘toolbelt panel’ at the bottom.  I end up shoving things into my pockets to keep them dry, which makes my pants want to fall down. My jacket’s got pockets, but they don’t hold very much.

Think of me when you’re all warm cozy tonight.

Filed under: locations, Work

3 Responses

  1. Jonathan says:

    Hi Peggy,
    For those of us in the market for a good set of rain gear, what would you recommend? Thanks.

  2. meg says:

    The three most dreaded words in a script:
    Night
    Exterior
    Rain
    Good luck and dry to keep dry!

  3. meg says:

    uh, make that TRY to keep dry.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

