Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

Technical difficulties prevent a Friday photo

For some reason, my computer and my camera can’t see each other, which is a recent development. I keep getting weird error messages and I have no idea why, and I have to be at work in two hours so I don’t have time to troubleshoot.

You know, I’m actually sorry that I switched over to Linux. Really I am. Sure I don’t have to worry about spyware or viruses, but I’m now in a whole new world of hurt and no one’s coming to rescue me.

Don’t tell me to buy a Mac. I’m not made of money.

Oh, well. At least I’ve got one day this week, which is a very good thing since apparently California’s unemployment offices are dealing with the state’s budget crisis by simply ignoring claims. I was talking to one guy who filed three months ago and has heard nothing back, despite calls and emails.

I’ve been getting a few days a week, which is enough to keep the proverbial wolf at bay, but not enough to have any extra money to spend on operating systems or a plane ticket to Vail, Colorado for the World Cup downhill skiing this weekend.

On second thought, it’s probably better I can’t go to Vail. It’s probably really cold there.

Filed under: camera, computer, mishaps, Non-Work

3 Responses

  1. Emily says:

    Good luck with the linux. It’s not for the faint of heart. There is a lot of help out there, though. It’s all in the form of varyingly crotchety forum participants, but for the most part they can talk your through anything (as long as you have an internet connection). Your particular linux flavor will have a crew of die hard adherents who are willing to spend a surprising amount of time trying to help you fix problems. To do otherwise would be to concede a point to Microsoft, and this they will never do. Good luck.

  2. Anonymous says:

    I killed my laptop by accidentally dropping it, killed the hard drive (thank God I had a new spare) and killed the rom drive – doh. I want a new laptop for Christmas.

    Wow, haven’t been to this blog in long while and I miss your banter, Peg!

    There’s a barter site, if you know how to design a website you could win a time share in Lake Tahoe. Not kidding.

    I just want to go where it’s warm.

  3. geekhiker says:

    My suggestion would be to pick up a cheap cardreader. You can do a little online research to make sure the model has a driver for Linux, and the bonus will be that the data transfer time will probably be loads faster than the direct camera connection…

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

