Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

A case of the blahs

For the past few months, I just haven’t felt like myself at all. Although I’ve had a head cold I can’t seem to shake, there’s nothing physically wrong with me, I’m just, well, blech.

I get home from work (and I’m so thankful that I’ve been working a few days a week) and I hardly have any energy and can’t collect my thoughts enough to do anything other than stare at the TV with dead eyes – which isn’t normal for me.

I called the doctor about it last week, and his suggestion was to take some vitamins and find a much younger boyfriend. Now I’m no medical expert, but that would seem to not be the thing that I need if I’ve misplaced my get up and go. The boyfriend, that is. I’m already taking vitamins.

So today, I ventured out to hippy country and saw the Sweater Queen in the hopes that she’d be able to give me some sort of suggestion.

Normally, the Sweater Queen just gives me a list of supplements to take and then we have a good laugh about whatever happens to be going on in the world, but today she looked at me and said with some concern “I think there’s something wrong with your Vata.”

“That’s impossible” I replied. “I just had mammograms on both of them and they’re fine.”

The Sweater Queen sighed, and recommended that I go down the street to see some ‘herbalist’ who’s supposedly really, really old and was doing yoga in a speedo in his front yard (did I mention that today was cold and rainy) when I finally did pull up to his trailer (or shack. It could have been a shack. I’m still not 100% certain. There was a lot of debris strewn about).

He must have misinterpreted my look of alarm because he boomed “the cold – it makes your strong” as he pounded his scrawny chest for emphasis.

Never, ever argue with someone if you think they might be crazy.

I agreed that the cold does indeed make one strong and he gave me an herbal tea which smelled like what I imagine dirty gym socks would smell like were one to boil them. He then told me that sugar, coffee, meat, booze, and anything else that tastes good is poison and I should never ever eat any of it again.

I thanked him, paid him, then drove past the point which I thought a scrawny 300 year old man could walk (apparently cars are evil, too) and pitched the stinky gym sock tea into a trash can.

Then, I bought a box of chocolates and a nice bottle of port.

I feel better already.

Filed under: Non-Work

17 Responses

  1. meg says:

    Well, the past few months have been stressful for you, with surgery, recovery, rehab etc. That and uncertainty about work would shiver the soundest of timbers (arrrr, the pirate psychologist in me just came out!) If I were Lucy (from “Peanuts”) I would say “that’ll be 5 cents.”
    Here’s some ineffectual cyberhugs, from me to you.
    <<<<>>>

  2. dugsdale says:

    Well, I’m not a doc, but I’m a “fake patient” who’s been examined by countless med students, and one of my cases has symptoms somewhat similar to yours (actually, the case is early adult-onset type 2 diabetes). The bright young students always ask me, “Did anything major happen 3 months ago? Any major change in diet, lifestyle, any stressors dating from that time?”

    Also, didn’t you say something about taking antidepressants (Sorry if I’m misremembering)? You might check listed side effects for antidepressants, one of which could be…..depression. (My sister is an antidepression-test-bunny for drug co’s, and they monitor her pretty closely for suicide ideation. You don’t have THAT, do ya?)

    Also, I’m not sure what to think about a doc who fobs you off like that. There are all sorts of medical issues that COULD produce those symptoms, some dire & some easily remedied. If the condition persists, I’d think about a second opinion.

    You didn’t say whether the low energy manifests at work, or just when you get home. Ditto the mental confusion. If both are constant, that’s one thing; if they’re situational, that’d be something else (and possibly an emotional rather than medical issue).

    Good luck, hon! Post further on this!

  3. zhoen says:

    A set of symptoms that Docs hate, because they really can’t deal with chronic, vague diseases. No training, no background, no treatment.

    If you got a bad virus, on top of surgery and rehab (which is trauma, no question) it can take a good while to really get back to normal. Lots of time. Lots of frustrating time. Especially feet, because it’s not like they every really get all the rest they need to heal.

    Take care of yourself.

    • Peggy Archer says:

      Speaking of feet… what I really want is to go skiing/snowboarding but I just don’t think I can get into the boots.

      Anyone know anything about telemark (cross country) skiing? Softer shoes?

  4. JCW says:

    “Then, I bought a box of chocolates and a nice bottle of port.”

    Smart move… beats stinky sock tea all to Hell.

    It’s been a rough couple of years for you – You’ll stop feeling “blech” when the time is right.

    A little over two years ago our cat died. A year and a half ago our mother died. Eleven months ago our other cat died. Now our Dad is dying of bone cancer.

    I understand “blech”… just as I know I’ll get past it in the right time, I’m sure you will as well. Stress is a killer – there may be no getting past it, there IS life after it passes.

    Trust.

    • Peggy Archer says:

      Oh, wow. I’m so sorry about the cat and your mom and your dad. I wish there was something I could do.

      • JCW says:

        “I wish there was something I could do”

        You already ARE doing something… you help to keep me amused and entertained.

        BTW – Last time I worked a couple of weeks back, Jeffrey Reiner was directing.

        NEVER work with Jeffrey Reiner. NEVER.

        I’d call him a major dick, but in reality I suspect the root of his problem is a very minor dick.

        There… I broke the industry rule and said it aloud. Feels good.

  5. Dan says:

    Welcome to my world. The thing that’s been saving me is this stuff from Gary Null called “Berry Blast” powder. It has 10,000 ORAC units per serving. (5,000 to 8,000 ORAC units a day kills free radicals– the shit that ages us). It took about 2 weeks on the stuff and the “blechs” lifted. It IS pricey though.

  6. geekhiker says:

    Well, it has been a helluva year for you. Maybe a trip out of the city, camping up the coast or out in the desert, just to get away from the city and all its stresses?

  7. snarkolepsy says:

    It’s probably nothing that a better economy couldn’t cure.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

